We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back.”
Review of Daniel Boone's

Daniel Boone's
Ranked #37 of 364 Restaurants in Tyler
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murchison, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Will be going back.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Yesterday was my first time to eat here. I had the smaller chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes, turnip greens and the free chili beans. I could cut the CFS with my fork. It was well seasoned as were the turnip greens with bacon pieces. I loved the mashed potatoes and cream gravy. I just wished that I had gotten the pinto beans instead. The chili beans were alittle thick and tomato-ey. But overall this is a very good place. The service was excellent, friendly and kept our tea glasses filled. Didn't have room for the ice cream but will save room next visit, after all, being too full for Blue Bell is a sad thing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandZmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hamburger special marginal”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit here. To be fair, the place was pretty full at lunch time and everyone else seemed to be satisfied. I ordered the hamburger special (1/4-lb patty) and upgraded to onion rings. The burger was very non-descript; the one slice of tomato was so thin you could have read a newspaper through it. The onion rings were served almost cold; they were doughy and pretty tasteless. And there were only 5...

This might be a place to try for a proper meal and not just a burger but you couldn't prove it by my visit. Did I mention the dining room temperature was a little chilly for me...?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Down Homecooking,Great Service Good Prices”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had Lunch yesterday with a group from our Church at Daniel Boone's. We had a group of 13 and they treated us very well. Service was fast, food was great and prices were good. And they serve you with a smile on their face. The Pinto Beans and Chili Beans come with every meal and the serve your self Bluebell Icecream Bar was very nice. Manager Michelle is a real Sweetheart. She will make sure you are taken care of.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“i”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Pretty good place to get a burger, but the wait staff really wasn't very friendly. I had heard it was good food with free blue bell ice cream so we decided to give it try. Probably will go back, but only if I am on that side of town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marypat0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
277 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Texas Comfort Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were recently in town for a family get together and found this place in the phone book. We checked it out on several sites and decided to try it. It was very good and there was something for everyone and for all ages. Everyone liked it so much we returned for lunch a couple days later with even a larger crowd. The wait staff was friendly and helpful...did not complain about multiple separate checks and was able to smile and please even the grumpiest person and the pickiest eaters.

The chicken fried steak and fried catfish were given big thumbs up by everyone that tried them. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The grilled catfish was even approved. There were no complaints on the self-serve pinto beans (ranch or plain) or self-serve Blue Bell ice cream which had many flavor selections.

The diningrooms were full both times but were not overly noisy, even with kids. The tables were not crowded. Plenty of free parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel Boone's also viewed

 

Been to Daniel Boone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing