We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“manager horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Getaway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tyler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Getaway
Save
You added Country Getaway to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“manager horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

her i believe name was may.she try to act like is she helpful but she just was being noisy and wanting a tip every thing she did.she made us feel very uncomfortable..supposed to be honeymoon cottage.but manager would not leave us alone.because of her we will not return.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    11
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dike, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This was the worst place to spend our anniversary. The place was a dump and the food was nasty. The people lingered around when not wanted. Our credit card was over charged and we have yet to get our money back 4 months later. A friend of mine told us not to stay but the web pages looked so nice. Seeing is Believing... and believe us... RUN!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tyler hotels

Whitehouse, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The web page is deceiving ..to say the least. I was going to rent this place for my girlfriend and I anniversary.. Not happening, she was afraid to stay the night. Starting with the outside... The whole place looked like a run down trailer park. Siding of the room we were suppose to stay in was falling off.. The inside had stained dirty carpet, mold around the tub, the mattress... I have a better mattress for my dog to sleep on. The furniture was stained all over, and dirty... this place is an absolute DUMP!! I called the manager and told them I would not be staying there that night.

Room Tip: Do not rent here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This place promised seclusion, fully equipped kitchen, and hot tub. We got there - no hot water, no kitchen equipment, no oven, and the curtains (on PVC pipe) fell off the wall. To top it off, there was some guy in the next room playing guitar. Couldn't cook dinner - no utensils. Hot tub was all apart and being worked on, and some distance away - not as portrayed. Smelled funny. And on Sunday morning the lady came and, completely uninvited, decided to have breakfast with us. ! She was nice, but she imposed herself on us. Stained carpets rounded out the whole stay. Did I mention the broken bed?? This was supposed to be a romantic, secluded get away, and it was closer to a scene from Deliverance. Photos on web site photoshopped to the max. Happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN TEXAS
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

This was shown and advertized as a very nice place, website and the owner were so so false. It was horrible ! EVERYTHING ! The cost, the accomendations,the service,the grounds,the owner had a excuse for it all. The bed smelled,the floors were dirty,bathroom was like a outhouse smelled,cobwebs everywhere,ranch house for maybe the help? And the boats looked shipwrecked . And we were not even offered a discount. word will spread and they need be shut down for false advertizing . RIPPPPP OFFFFFF !

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MADCOWAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was undoubtedly the worse place I've ever stayed. The rug in our bedroom looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. The chair and ottoman had old, stained cushions. The sheets were dingy. In the bath, the tub and toilet were dirty. I actually cleaned the toilet myself before I would use it. There were exposed wires everywhere. The patio was was littered with broken flower pots and worn-out patio furniture. A fountain wasn't working. Lakeside, the canoes and paddle boats had seen better days. Everywhere you looked there was broken lawn furniture or furniture missing cushions. In the morning, the owner couldn't even find coffee cups or creamer. In between wandering the grounds with the hired help and running to her house for items, we were finally served a concoction of runny eggs and suspicious-smelling ham. Biscuits were late coming because the owner "forgot" to put them in the oven. The place was so bad we left a day early as did another couple. We couldn't wait to get away from the Country Getaway - fast! The place desperately needs a makeover and professional management.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globegirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We were hoping for the peaceful , cosy B&B so elegantly described on the web site, but were met with a filthy, poorly run facility.
The first 'clue' perhaps was that the owner was nowhere to be seen on our arrival, and I had to call her to come to the house. The main house smelled musty and generally dirty. Our room was off the living room, which was far from ideal. It was also accessible through French doors that were supposed to offer a quiet 'private patio'. This consisted of a generous layer of mud, no functional door mat, two broken wicker chairs and a rusty table. The owner announced that she could not find any light bulbs for 2 of the lamps! There was a large stain on the main carpet and on a chair. It was also questionable as to the safety of the electrical outlets. The bathroom was not clean. The jacuzzi tub was filthy as was the toilet and the toothbrush holder. The sheets and towels were old and who knows when they were last washed. The communal kichen appeared relatively clean on the surface, but the pantry was in total disarray and a haven for sugar ants. Various packets of food from previous people (who most likely had left in a hurry) were scattered amounst the shelves.
Breakfast was late and disorganized. We were hesitant to even eat the eggs which did not appear fully cooked. Various power tools and lawn equipment was placed on the front porch next to where we were expected to eat.
Overall the setting was pleasant but the accomodation a disaster and should not be allowed to advertise itself as a 'romantic getaway'. We were expected to pay for 2 nights even though we only stayed for one. Health dept should close this place down! Would not recommend for even my dog to stay there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chump1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
4.4 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
8.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Southpark Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tyler
5.1 mi away
12 Oaks Motor Hotel
12 Oaks Motor Hotel
#22 of 37 in Tyler
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Value Place Tyler
Value Place Tyler
#14 of 37 in Tyler
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Getaway

Property: Country Getaway
Address: 5353 CR1185, Tyler, TX 75704
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Getaway Tyler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing