We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
Ranked #179 of 362 Restaurants in Tyler
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always good and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are a family of 6...so eating dinner out for under $70 is hard to find. But, at Cheddars we can and everybody is satisfied. Dinner at Cheddars costs about the same as a trip to Chick Fil A for our family, only we usually have "to go" boxes from Cheddars! The restaurant is clean, service is friendly and food tastes great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bpo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    25
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rusk, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was once a good place to eat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for years but one the past year every chance we gave them they ruined. Have to wait forever to be seated regardless of the time of day. Food is always dry or cold. Ordered chips and salsa and the chips were cold and stale. Ordered a well done steak and got a raw bloody steak. Sent it back and got a black steak and they never babe me my loaded bake potato or salad. Finally got my salad which normally has bacon bits and all that good stuff on it but this time was only lettuce. The "loaded" bake potato had cheese and sourcream. Nothing else.... The dinner consisted of trying to get the order right. Waiter was a bit lazy and careless so we want without refills. service has really been poor and i will not go back to cheddars. At least not this one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too noisy but great food for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Wow, this place has great food but it is so noisy in there you can not hold a conversation. The grilled catfish is my favorite and the sides are awesome. Red beans and rice, green beans, and turnip greens are my favorite. I don't know why they don't have corn bread though. I suggest you bring your own.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KevinDec2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food bad server first night review 1 of 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food was very good the waiter was bad. There was ten of us eating and he knew that his tip was added to all three of our bill so he did not take good care of us never ask us if we needed a refill on any drink it was that bad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45Many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed a good dinner and were very please with the service we received. We would return next time we visit Tyler.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AggieMom0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing