We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New name for good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“New name for good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

I found Scottish Inns and Suites using trip advisor, found the phone number with some difficulty, and called. The property gave up the Scottish Inns franchise on June 1, 2007, and is now called the Windsor Inn and Suites, which gave us some problems locating the property because we were looking for the Scottish Inns sign. It still has the same owner and in the same building at the same location. Its price was $79 for a room with two beds. It has the same owners and the same included features as it did before, and is a relative bargain in Tyler.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
25
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2007

We have stayed at Scottish Inn several times while visiting Tyler. The large rooms are comfortable and nice. The ceilings are painted with clouds. Our room was always cleaned promptly and efficiently. Coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave were great extras. The bed was better than most hotel beds. We always felt safe. Book early because it was obvious to us that many people working in Tyler with commercial companies are staying there long term. Return visitors are many.
You won't regret your stay here!

  • Liked — Large comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Size of area for breakfast and variety of items could be improved.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank swopey_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

My brother and I stayed here. The room was exceptionally clean and the beds were comfortable. There were solid surfaces on the vanity and around the tub.
There was a lot of attention to detail in the construction of the building unlike most cookie cutter chain locations. (Sorry, I am a guy!)
They provided us with an above average continental breakfast that included a waffle maker. There were many types of breads and cereal. They also offered coffe, juice and milk.
We paid 75 dollars after tax, (My brother recieved an AARP discount) and $75 was very competative with other hotels in the area.
I lived here in the mid eighties and many of the properties listed on this site were absolute dumps then. I can't imagine them being any better today.
One more bonus is the location. It is five minutes from all the restaurants and shopping. That was a big plus as I was returning home Valentine's Day night and was fully prepared.
(Note, Smith County is a dry county and you will have to buy a membership at the restaurant if you want a beer with dinner. They are not expensive.)
Overall, it was one of my BEST experiences with a low cost hotel and I have stayed in many over the years.

Brad, Greenfield, IN

  • Liked — Value and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was good
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

I called The Scottish Inn at the suggestion of my cousin who lives in Tyler. As a woman traveling alone and wanted a place within a reasonable distance to where the action seems to be in Tyler, not far from Broadway. Oh, the actions means shopping and eating establishments. Uppermost I was looking for a place of safety for a fem sol. The Scottish Inn was just perfect for me. The desk clerk was personable and helpful. I asked for a room on the first floor on the front. I got it. My room was clean and neat. Breakfast was served in the morning in the lobby. The coffee hit the spot as well as the other selections were good

The bed was new and comfy and the price not quite $70....both a good value.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Fluffy-Chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
3.7 mi away
Studio 6 Tyler
Studio 6 Tyler
#11 of 38 in Tyler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Tyler
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
2.5 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel and Conference Center - Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3393 South SW Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701 (Formerly Windsor Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tyler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tyler
#9 Family Hotel in Tyler
#10 Business Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Tyler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing