We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is nasty and unkempt”
Review of Ryan's - CLOSED

Ryan's
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“this place is nasty and unkempt”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

food was just ok but the whole place feels DIRTY got a to-go order no plasticware no cups for dessert or soup staff seemed very disoriented and the whole place seems to be on it's last leg dined there 6 months ago it was much better

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmgceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    9
    14
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawkins, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Needs cleaning and updating”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We used to eat here fairly regularly, but not so much any more. The food used to be hot and pretty flavorful, and there was a good variety, (never so great on desserts, however), but the last few times, it seemed they had definitely reduced the number of offerings and the quality had certainly gone downhill. But the main thing I have noticed (unless they have changed this in the last several months) is the very dreary grey decor (literally---GREY), and the place looks not-so-clean and in need of a makeover. I suppose it is meant to keep people from lingering---you know, get in/get out. I guess they don't make it very warm or appealing so maybe people will not want to stay long and will eat less. And the restrooms are pretty awful. I sort of judge a restaurant by how clean they keep their public restrooms, and, well, yuk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wgwewgwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“RYANS”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Over cooked and not good. If you are just looking for a lot of food at a cheap price, this is the place to go, but not for me.

BUD CARTER

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Buffet, friendly staff, Thursday kids .99c”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We got there on Thursday night, children were .99c which was nice. Adult was $10.99 a plate. There were many selections but can't compare with golden corral- golden corral is better. The guy that cook steak was very nice and been working in that place 16 years..he knows his stuff...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank csoriaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

$5.49 for lunch buffet - for seniors otherwise it's $5.99, can't be beat. And when you add good food with a huge selection you've got a deal. Because the place is bustling with business, the food turn-over is quick - nothing sitting around too long. You've got fried fish, baked fish, a variety of chicken dishes, mac n cheese, lots of veggies, popcorn shrimp, Mexican foods, Chinese made to order stir-fry, great salad selections, and an array of deserts, the best being the "homemade" bananna pudding. I was in Tyler recently for 2 & 1/2 weeks and we ate at Ryan's 3 times.
I say go there, get your fill. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank extranan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing