We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly BBQ!”

Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q
Ranked #1 of 381 Restaurants in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Stanley's is the oldest operating mom and pop BBQ joint in Tyler, serving up true, pit smoked BBQ for over 55 years. Come try our perfect brisket, baby back ribs, turkey, fresh sausage, and pulled pork in a fun and family friendly atmosphere! Stanley's offers some other selections such as fish tacos and even has vegetarian items. Also be sure to try our two most popular sandwiches - The Mother Clucker and Brother-in-law. We have a newly renovated, covered, and enclosed patio where you can catch live music 6 nights a week. The patio is also now equipped with a full-bar that features Texas spirits, draft beer, and a nice selection of over 70 bourbons. We take pride to produce all our barbecue and sides fresh each day, so we occasionally sell out due to heavy and unanticipated guest traffic. Call ahead if you want to make sure we have something you're looking for! We also offer catering services for your next event. See you soon! Be kind and have fun!
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We absolutely love to bring people from out of town here. The BBQ always pleases, and there is spicy and regular sauce. Not a lot of sides to choose from, but the delicious smoky meat will win anyone over. It's great because there are ribs (amazing), sandwiches (the ex-wife is my fave - you can get them w/slaw on them too), stuffed baked potatoes, and many choices on the menu. The setting is fun (blues & BBQ & a few bikers - love it!) and makes Stanley's more of a fun destination than just simply delicious food. Eat outside, kick back, and enjoy!!

Thank Okieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

You pretty much covered it all! Thank you for taking the time to share this with everyone. We appreciate you showing out of towners our place, and we look forward to many delicious meals to come.

Take care,
Nick and Jen, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 770 of 930 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband read a wonderful review of Stanley's in one of our Texas magazines and while we were passing through Tyler, we could eat no where else but Stanley's! I'm glad he read the article. My pork ribs were delicious and that is coming from someone who only likes beef ribs! My husband had brisket and said it was tender and tasty. The slaw and potato salad were tasty as well. We were greeted by staff who could not have been more helpful or friendly. The inside was small but very clean. A peek out at the patio showed much more seating. We commented on the limited number of parking spaces but then saw signs saying there was parking in the rear. If you are a Texan, you will know that this is a typical barbeque spot as far as atmosphere. If you are not a Texan, you may be surprised at the atmosphere. You walk in, order from a board on the wall and sit at a little table. Your name is called, you pick your food up on a tray which has been lined with a large sheet of butcher paper and your food is sitting on top. The beans are in a cup....all else is just placed on the paper as if it is a plate. Next time, we see articles about the best barbeque in Texas and Stanley's is mentioned, we will have to certainly agree.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank readyandpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Sounds like we have almost converted you to pork ribs! Great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything. We, too, are glad that he read those articles! Next time you make it over to East Texas, we hope to see ya.

Cheers,
Nick and Jen, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Come early, there is always a line. The Brother In Law is my favorite, and I add a fried egg on top. Sounds gross, but delicious. My husband and I try to go by every chance we get. Sit out back with a great local brew and the best BBQ around. Doesn't get any better than that!!

Thank Shanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

A fried egg brings it to a whole new level -- glad you enjoyed, Shanna! We look forward to seeing you and your husband again soon. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Nick and Jen, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

An old fashioned BBQ establishment. Good sandwiches, ribs and potato salad. Try the pulled pork, brisket sandwich with an egg on top and Stanley's bbq sauce. YUM.

1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendations, Janet!

All the best,
Nick and Jen, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

So lucky to live in the same town as this fantastic BBQ joint. I got the 4 meat sampler plate, the highlighted item for Texas BBQ week. I certainly can see why the pork ribs have won awards, they practically melted in my mouth. The brisket, turkey and sausage were all excellent, too.

1  Thank shetex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Melting meat! That's what we like to hear. Thanks! Happy to hear that you appreciate what we have going on over here. We really do love being able to feed the people of Tyler.

Sincerely,
Nick and Jen, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing