We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food”

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #196 of 378 Restaurants in Tyler
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Carthage, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very good food, friendly staff, and great atmosphere. Centrally located very close to shopping. Would recommend highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buna, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“First time here”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I went to On the Border Mexican Restaurant in November, 2012. The chips were huge, and the salsa was a bit on the hot side. The superior dinner for was a very filling entree. It had a chicken flauta, crispy beef taco, chicken enchilada with sour cream sauce, and a cheese and onion enchilada with chile con carne. The taco shell was shaped differently than your average taco shell from the store. It was frilly. For dessert, my entire table shared a large chocolate brownie with ice cream, and chocolate syrup. It was perfect. All was delicious, and I am waiting for another opportunity to descend upon this great restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Typical of a chain restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I normally avoid chain restaurants in an effort to search out really well prepared food, house made interesting food or something I have seen but haven't tasted before. I was with a friend who is not keen on new places so we agreed we both liked On the Border. Before I was a foodie I thought the food was great. This time I ordered the all you care to eat enchiladas because I would be able to try three different choices. Beef, chicken and cheese. They were all pretty tasty. Here is the thing though. They weren't even hot. Neither were the beans and rice. It looked good on the plate, the flavor was pretty good but it definitely wasn't great. It felt like they assemble a plate from pre cooked food and warmed it a bit. Come on now kitchen staff. You need to treat every plate like its the most important plate you are serving that day. Have some pride in your efforts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A favorite place to enjoy a great meal. The patio section is always an fun place and the food and service was great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike75766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great to be back in Texas”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great Tex-Mex food. It was busy but it was peak shopping time & the food is great. I eat here every time I go to Tyler. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Salty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing