We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent July Swimming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyler State Park

Tyler State Park
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent July Swimming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We camped in a 40 foot RV in the Big Pines Section, the site was big and roomy and very private in our spot. We had full hookups at our site. We saw some rabbits and raccoons, and a turkey. I have lived in Texas all my life and this was my first visit to this beautiful park. It was very hot this weekend so we spent a good time in the lake. A beautiful spot to swim, clean and the water was just right. Many children and families all having a great time. We were not able to see the water from our site but the lake was just a short walk away. There are some wonderful trails to walk on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FortWorthNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    69
    16
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pineywoods Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I grew up going to this state park but I hadn't been in years and years. But now as an adult, I took my husband and two small sons for a day visit and fell in love with it all over again. It's nestled perfectly in the woods with shady trails to walk on and a lovely lake. We walked all the way around the lake, maybe 2 miles? There are lots of benches to sit on and little spots where you can walk down to the water. It's a spring fed lake so it's always beautiful. From the shore of the trail you can see clear water out 10-15 feet in most spots and you can SEE all the big fat fish right there. It was very quiet. They have a nice swim area and a gift/supply shop that has a good selection. They have a great playground as well! We will be going back routinely for a little nature loving.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Fruitloopmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely park, great campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My family camped here this weekend. It was a wonderful time. The swimming area is great, complete with a platform for jumping and diving. We went on a beaver pond walk with Ranger Sanders, who was very thorough and entertaining in his talk. We went beaver's dam at dusk, hoping to spot a beaver. Though we only heard one (or so we'd like to think) and did not see any, it was lovely to watch the sunset from the nearby footbridge.

All in all, a wonderful park with great trails and camping.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in the cabin with 2 bunk beds. We enjoyed everything about our stay.

Raccoons came to visit us at night but they kept their distance from our cabin, picnic table and camp fire.

We hiked two of the shorter trails, swam in the lake, built camp fires and drove around to enjoy the scenery.

It being July, it was hot and the forrest prevented any breeze from cooling us off so it was a bit sweaty at times. The bathrooms were clean but sweltering due to no AC. The cabin was just what we needed as far as space goes. It was just a bit sandy no matter how much we swept the floor (bring your flip flops).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Park rules need better enforcement and people more respectful of other visitors”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a beautiful and clean park. Came here to relax and enjoy nature as we had heard lots of good things about this park. However, the neighbors basically yelling at each other to converse as if they were across the park and the other neighbors cranking up their car radios, we felt like we were back in the middle of a neighborhood block party. They even partied late into the night. So much for the camp rules for quiet after 10pm. The swim area was extremely packed. We tried walking the trails around the park and that was nice and very well maintained for the most part. We wished the rangers would have kept the day trippers from picnicking right in the path as we had to walk through where they had their beach chairs and they gave us dirty looks for going through as if we had any other way around them but they took up the whole area. Two of the men we walked past reeked of alcohol, so again, public consumption rule was out the door. We will not be coming back here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank LuckyMCS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tyler State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing