We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, quiet, comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Tyler
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Business traveler stayed overnight. Despite mixed reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to take a chance due to its good location for my needs. It is clean, quiet, beds comfortable, a/c quiet and efficient, reasonably-priced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blythe_Spirit5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendarichardsonhie, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2015
Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we may continue to improve our services to better accommodate you. We do hope to see you back in the future.




Sincerely,

Brenda, S
Guest Relations @HIE Tyler North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
11
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Reading the reviews of this place, (some of them) you would think this place was a real dive. That is not the case. It is in the older part of town, but very close to the interstate, downtown and the locasl medical facilities. I was in town to have treatment for a medical condition, and not only did the hotel extend a special rate for the hospital, the general manager personally picked me up after my visit to the hospital, so I wouldn't have to contend with a taxi. Now that my friends is going above and beyond. The hotel is clean, the staff courteous and the free breakfast is ample.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We live and work in Tyler, and this facility has been used by family [on numerous occasions, including recently] and friends [at our suggestion] for many years—and the reasons are simple: the staff is courteous, professional, responsive, and helpful; the rooms are clean and comfortable; the location is convenient to Interstate-20 [6 miles via Hwy. 69], the airport [5 miles], business/shopping areas [close by, as well as in “South Tyler”], restaurants, movies, the excellent Caldwell Zoo. Andy Rooney once spoke in Tyler and said, “Tyler is the longest darn city I’ve ever been in!” That may seem to be true—and this facility is on the north end, adjacent to the helpful Loop-323, which is the main “circle” around Tyler. If you wish more traffic, more congestion, and higher prices, there are several hotels in South Tyler—but we’ll continue to stick with this one!

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club to get room upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasPadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

i really don't know what some people are thinking. This hotel is by far the best Holiday inn express that I have ever stayed in. The staff are clearly treated well, they are all smiling and warm; even the maids were courteous and greeted you as you walked through the halls during the day time. The grounds were well cared for, and though the hotel was clearly aging, it was very, very clean. My room was clean and smelled fresh, and even had a scented oil plug in, in the room. I was so pleased with the cleanliness of the room that I even left a tip for my maid, something I have never done before. I had never been to the area previously so I was at a loss for places to eat and shop and the front desk staff were extremely knowledgeable and provided me excellent recommendations. They even gave me directions to this lovely running trail between two small towns North of the hotel that was absolutely beautiful. Couldn't have possibly asked for more.

Room Tip: If you join their rewards program, you get a complimentary upgrade to a better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The only redeeming factor this hotel had was the breakfast. For a free breakfast they had a lot of hot entrées to choose from. But the staff was rude, slow and the cleaning service was horrible. We had a lamp without a bulb which we called on several times and still never got a bulb for. A broken phone that never got replaced even after numerous calls and a trip to the front desk. Our towels never got replenished correctly, often times only giving us 1 bath towel, there were 2 of us staying in that room. If they ever vacuumed our room, you couldn't tell. The dust in the room was horrible! The toilet had a mind of its own, often flushing when no one was in the bathroom. There was a spill in the main lobby that was there for 24 hrs before someone finally cleaned it up. I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swan318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afrank3247, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Morning,
We sincerely appreciate your review of our hotel. If we are never told, we can not make the necessary adjustments to prevent the same experience from happening with another guest.
We strive to make every guest feel welcome and at home in our establishment, and when we fall short we are eager to have the opportunity to know where our shortcomings are. I apologize that your experience was not up to your standards, and would appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
Respectfully,
LeAnne Stanton
General Mangager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermontville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have to admit I was very worried when I arrived at first since it did look a little sketchy, but all of those feelings went away the moment I checked in. The front desk people greeted my family and I with a friendly smile, and helped make sure that all of our needs were met. Holiday Inns are by far the best hotels I've ever stayed! Their beds were so soft and comfortable which is more than I can say about most hotels and housekeeping did a good job of making sure our towels were stocked and rooms were kept clean. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor is the floor to be! Close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on points, but looked at price for stay, it seems it would have been nicer than it was. I've stayed at nicer holiday inns. I'll try the other holiday inns if instay in town next time. Didn't seem employees took pride in this holday inn. Little things we noticed, may not be a deal breaker for some. Floors in elevator and hallways were dirty. When we first walked in we noticed a smell. We think it was bug spray. The entrance seemed dark and cold. Room was ok, nothing special. Had a huge lcd tv, should have used the money from the tv's to better update rooms. In bathroom, You could see where tiles had tried to be replaced bad work. Not sure what schedule front desk had , but the same guy had been at the front desk from the afternoon we checked in until the next afternoon when we checked out. He looked exhausted. He was very nice and tried to help us when we can
It is on the north side of tyler and there were others placed to stay. La quinta or super 8 may be better at the same price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Abel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Abel02,

We appreciate your candid feedback about your stay with us. I would like to thank you, also, for being Priority Club members and for spending your rewards nights with us. We are pleased you liked our room amenities as well as the service from our helpful front desk. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. We will definitely utilize your comments to improve our services for future guest.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites at So. Broadway Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler South
5.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Address: 3247 W Gentry Pkwy, Tyler, TX 75702-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tyler offers 67 interior corridor guest rooms.Come experience the warm and friendly atmosphere of the Holiday Inn Express in North Tyler, Texas. Flying in to Tyler Pounds Airport? Give us a call at least 24 hrs in advance and pre-book your ride. Our complimentary airport shuttle service runs from 7 AM to 10 PM and we'd be happy to pick you up. We're just minutes away from Caldwell Zoo, Tiger Refuge Park, and the beautiful Tyler Rose Gardens. We are also convenient to the University of Texas at Tyler Medical Center and Mother Frances Hospital.Our free deluxe breakfast serves hot items to get your day started. Check out our web site and take a look at the cinnamon rolls. Can't you just smell 'em? Stay on track with your fitness regime by working up a sweat in our fitness center. Feel like you are at home in one of our business suites or relax in our Jacuzzi suite. All rooms feature free high speed Internet along with a mini fridge and microwave, full size iron board and steam iron and color TV with free HBO. Our apologies, but no pets are allowed. Must be 21 years of age unless active military. Pool and hot tub closed until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tyler
Holiday Inn Tyler
Tyler Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing