We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For price, should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Tyler
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“For price, should be better”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on points, but looked at price for stay, it seems it would have been nicer than it was. I've stayed at nicer holiday inns. I'll try the other holiday inns if instay in town next time. Didn't seem employees took pride in this holday inn. Little things we noticed, may not be a deal breaker for some. Floors in elevator and hallways were dirty. When we first walked in we noticed a smell. We think it was bug spray. The entrance seemed dark and cold. Room was ok, nothing special. Had a huge lcd tv, should have used the money from the tv's to better update rooms. In bathroom, You could see where tiles had tried to be replaced bad work. Not sure what schedule front desk had , but the same guy had been at the front desk from the afternoon we checked in until the next afternoon when we checked out. He looked exhausted. He was very nice and tried to help us when we can
It is on the north side of tyler and there were others placed to stay. La quinta or super 8 may be better at the same price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Abel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Abel02,

We appreciate your candid feedback about your stay with us. I would like to thank you, also, for being Priority Club members and for spending your rewards nights with us. We are pleased you liked our room amenities as well as the service from our helpful front desk. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. We will definitely utilize your comments to improve our services for future guest.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
14
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel was the worst Holiday Inn we have ever stayed in. A 1970's Motel 6 would put it to shame. They should be embarrassed to axcept more than a one star ranking.
As part of a Christmas gift to my wife, I promised her a weekend at Canton Days. We've always stayed in a Holiday Inn Express where ever we go so I got a reservation to the one nearest to Canton. The weekend was great except for this so called "Hotel".
To start off, the T.V. would not work for the 1st hour we were there. I called the front desk and they told me to be patient because some of the T.V.s didn't always work. One reason we stay at Holiday Inn Express is that we always enjoyed the softness of the bed. Not in this one. It was as hard as a rock. Consequently, we did not have a good night sleep either night. The A/C would not get any cooler than 78 and make loud sounds all night. None of the ice machines worked on all three floors, but the desk person had the nerve to tell me to walk to all of the floors and see if any would work. I shouldn't have to do this. The soft drink machines took my money, but I never got anything out of them. I tried to call the front desk about this problem, but the room phone didn't work so I used my cell phone to talk to someone. The staff said that they would call back to solve the problem, but they never did. The halls were dirty and looked like they hadn't been vaccuumed in a week. When we checked in, the desk person told me "good luck" finding a parking space and the parking lot was very poorly lit.
Overall, this was the worst hotel experience we've ever had and I would not reccommend this place to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Warning--Do not stay in this Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Jerry S,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tyler hotels

Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

There was nothing bad about this Holiday Inn & Suites property. It is just in a bad location for almost everything you could do in Tyler (except the Caldwell Zoo). We constantly had to drive back south for a meal or a movie or shopping. Next time, we will not use hotwire, but pick a specific property and stay in South Tyler.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txmasonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Txmasonmom,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. I am sorry the hotels location did not suite your needs. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I dragged my 4 girls out to Flint Texas for my long timeshare meeting while they drove around in the van.Then drove to Tyler. So they were not really happy when we arrived at the Holiday Inn. The front desk attendant welcomed us and said she would have fresh baked cookies soon. We checked in and the room was nice with beds that had memory foam tops. My kids and I loved them. Cookies were done and she got us hot chocolate when asked. She made them feel welcomed and everyone's moods improved. Internet was high speed and nice TV in the room. Workout room enjoyed by my girls even though not many machines. However, they offer a day pass at a nearby gym that is 24 hours. Great breakfast. It was an enjoyable stay and would stay here again anytime in Tyler Texas. Thanks to a wonderful front desk attendant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea8ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

None of our lamps worked, neither of our phones worked. Breakfast (albeit complimentary) was cold at 6:20 a.m. I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one is old and icky. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

After driving 4 hours and shopping at Canton Trade Days for another 5 hours, we arrived at the Holiday Inn Express on West Gentry Parkway in Tyler, Texas. At check-in, the front desk manager stated that I had cancelled my reservations on October 5, which I had not. I received no cancelization number via email, no correspondence at all. I am a Priority Member and stay at this hotel twice a year; therefore, the hotel has my details. The desk manager was rude and loud; there were no other rooms available in Tyler for that weekend because of the flea market. I filed a complaint and later received an email from the manager of the hotel saying I had cancelled my reservations; he was sorry that no rooms were available. He did offer me a free room in the future. Unfortunately after many wonderful girl-road trips, I have lost my trust and confidence in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhoDatVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I love this hotel! It was clean, comfortable beds, and great customer service. High speed internet access, comfortable seating in my room and more ... Will stay here, again, whenever I visit Tyler, TX!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tremt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Southpark Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler South
2.4 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites at So. Broadway Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Address: 3247 W Gentry Pkwy, Tyler, TX 75702-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tyler offers 67 interior corridor guest rooms.Come experience the warm and friendly atmosphere of the Holiday Inn Express in North Tyler, Texas. Flying in to Tyler Pounds Airport? Give us a call at least 24 hrs in advance and pre-book your ride. Our complimentary airport shuttle service runs from 7 AM to 10 PM and we'd be happy to pick you up. We're just minutes away from Caldwell Zoo, Tiger Refuge Park, and the beautiful Tyler Rose Gardens. We are also convenient to the University of Texas at Tyler Medical Center and Mother Frances Hospital.Our free deluxe breakfast serves hot items to get your day started. Check out our web site and take a look at the cinnamon rolls. Can't you just smell 'em? Stay on track with your fitness regime by working up a sweat in our fitness center. Feel like you are at home in one of our business suites or relax in our Jacuzzi suite. All rooms feature free high speed Internet along with a mini fridge and microwave, full size iron board and steam iron and color TV with free HBO. Our apologies, but no pets are allowed. Must be 21 years of age unless active military. Pool and hot tub closed until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tyler
Holiday Inn Tyler
Tyler Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing