We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, good food”

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #38 of 373 Restaurants in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beer, good food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family has visited BJ's several times. The food is hot and tastes good, but on our last trip we ordered the rib eye and were, at last, disappointed. We grill amazing rib eyes at home so the quality of the meat was disappointing...very fatty and hard to cut. BUT, everything else we have had until now has been great, including the beer! As for the atmosphere, it is nice but loud and makes it difficult to have a good conversation, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Overall we are pleased and will return to BJ's...just not for a steak!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bpo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Lots of variety on the menu and everything we've tried has been very good. Love the Fried Artichokes and the Black and Blue Flatbread Pizza.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennLynnTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fail as restaurant/sports bar and brewhouse”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went in to watch a football game and have a bite. The place is huge, new and impressive looking (from a chain standpoint). Watching games there is a bit strange as the size of the place and the huge ceilings mean that the TV screens are far away and not very ideal for watching sports. The main screen is large but they had 4 games on at once which proved more a distraction than anything.
They pride themselves on a big selections of beers and the amount of Belgian beers was impressive. One problem. They have none in stock! They were out of almost everything. I settled on a Shiner and it came out flat. Don't call yourself a brewhouse if you can't live up to the name.
We were warned that the food was subpar but they screwed up the unscrewupable. How can you mess-up a Margarita flatbread pizza? No flavor and tasted old. The watermelon and feta salad had horrible wilty greens and the feta had NO taste. These aren't complicated dishes. Just a little attention and some fresh ingredients will go a long way...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank conciergeinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Long wait for food; everything else pretty good”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Went to BJ's with my husband, college age kid & my folks while in town visiting family. Called ahead on a Sunday night about 7:30. Not too long a wait (mostly to get a table set up for our #) and restaurant wasn't packed. Friendly & personable waiter took our order quickly. But took forever for us to get food. Drinks weren't continuously filled either. But once food arrived everyone enjoyed what they got. Turkey sandwiches, baked potato & chicken fried steak. We even splurged for dessert. Nice atmosphere. Reminded me a bit of a dressed down cheesecake factory. Extensive & Yummy bar choices. We only ordered beers which were good & not that expensive given the atmosphere. Overall a good family & gathering place with lots of tvs & games on. Total tab for 5 people w tip, 4 desserts, 4 meals & 2 beers plus soft drinks rounded out @ $100. Not bad in my opinion. A couple could get out of here for about $20-30 easily.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjalbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere, food and drink”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

B.J.s has a long, varied menu. The beer menu is extensive and they have nice wines, too. The service is always good. The food is great with inventive salads and main courses. I have found the prices vaery fair.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing