We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time”

Tiger Creek Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Tiger Creek Wildlife Refuge, international home to over 37 rescued big cats. Come meet these majestic animals, learn about the feline species known as Panthera Tigris and find out how you can help to ensure their future in the United States and worldwide.We started Tiger Creek for a very specific purpose: "To provide rescue and rehabilitation of big cats that have been abused, neglected or displaced."It continues to be our guiding mission, and as we continue to expand, we are working to establish large natural settings for the big cats.
East Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Tiger Creek. The staff is very friendly and informative. There were so many different kinds of tigers and other cats. The kids especially enjoyed seeing the tigers from Animal Planet's Growing Up Tiger as well as Michael Jackson's tiger. It isn't a zoo but a tiger rescue so don't expect zoo type enclosures. The cages are meant for tigers not pets. The grounds are very well kept and it was a nice walk around to see all the animals. It was well worth the drive and if you are staying at Tyler State Park, it is a must see! Take your camera and make sure to visit the gift shop where there are lots of bargains!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EastTexasBeen_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    40
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirksville, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The reviewers that mention the conditions that the animals are kept in would do well to remember that these are rescue creatures, who came from captivity to this place in order to make their lives better. You can't take a tiger that has spent it's whole life as a pet and release it into the wild to "be free". The staff here obviously love these animals and work tirelessly to provide them with the best life possible in the circumstances that exist. The place is clean, the animals look healthy, and if you are concerned about the level of care, take a moment to speak to an employee about the animals and to hear the love in their voice and see the devotion on their face. We had a great time, were very impressed, and still talk about the people we met and the animals that we saw more than a year later. It's worth a trip.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank MartinFamilyKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Although, not all of the enclosures are ideal, these people seem to be really trying to provide good homes for abused tigers. It was wonderful to be able to see the cats so close and support their upkeep with admission and a donation.

Helpful?
1 Thank PrayingMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful attraction!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our guide was Jackie who is an intern. She was very friendly and gave us a great tour explaining the stories behind each of the cats. I took the opportunity to ask a lot of questions and she deftly fielded them all. I recommend this stop for anyone who loves animals. The animals are obviously well cared for and they are working diligently on providing bigger habitats for all of the cats, but they rely on donations and admission fees from visitors. Take the tour, you'll enjoy it and walk away feeling good about the work being done there.

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFord1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

For lack of funds, the cats are currently housed in small enclosures - definitely larger than the ones they must've been before - but nevertheless, small for Bengals and lions. The place was very clean and I am sure it is not easy to keep it so. The intern explained a short background of each of the cats and answered our questions to the best of her ability. It was sad to see what humans can do to wild animals by keeping them as pets and denying them the ability to live in the wild and fend for themselves. I wish the sanctuary would provide more 'toys' for the big cats to keep their minds occupied. Some of them were pacing up and down their enclosures - a sure sign of stress and boredom. Some larger enclosures are being built, as funds become available. All in all, it was a good place to visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Tiger Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing