We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Awful”
Review of Courtyard Tyler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tyler
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just called the Marriott Courtyard in Tyler, TX and spoke to Kiffany. I have been a loyal customer and member of the Marriott going on 7 years. She must have been the most unprofessional, inappropriate, rude and inconsiderate staff member I have ever spoken to. She was screaming to me by the end of the conversation. I think Marriott may want to re evaluate who they have answering their phone calls. If you cannot be pleasant on that first initial call, you will lose much business.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrCourtyardTyler, Manager at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Ms. Diana, I want to sincerely apologize for the customer serivce that you encountered during a recent phone conversation with one of my staff. I assure you that this is not the normal customer service that we offer our guests and necessary precautions have been taken to ensure that this does not happen again. Please, do consider us for your future reservations when traveling to Tyler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 304 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here when going to the trade days in Canton. I chose Courtyard because I have always had great experiences with Marriott hotels in the past. I was highly disappointed this time. The first 2 rooms they gave us were dirty- the first was being used by maintenance with tools and extension cords spread about, and the second had not been cleaned- half empty water bottles on table and nightstand, used soap and disposable razors in the shower. The third room was an "upgrade", meaning it had a whirlpool tub. Nice, but this room had issues too. The tv only had the basic channels, not HBO, CNN, and other channels that they advertised. The water pressure was spotty at best, the whirlpool tub we had been "upgraded" to was noisy and the drain plug didn't hold water, and when we turned down the sheets, we found several small BLOOD stains on the sheets. There was also a large stain on the carpet. Keep in mind this hotel is only a couple years old. The only positive I can say is the bathroom was clean. When checking out, I found out this hotel isn't even owned by Marriott- it's a franchise. All I can say is the Courtyard in Tyler, Tx gives Marriott hotels a huge black eye. For the price, I expect a certian level of cleanliness and professionalism. I would also expect a continental breakfast. I will definitely re evaluate my past loyalty to Marriott.

Room Tip: If traveling in Tyler, Tx., stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great experience, new hotel with a modern feel. Reasonably priced, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrCourtyardTyler, Manager at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Daniel, thank you for staying with us during your trip to Tyler. We are please to know that you will be a repeat guest and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

As a patent litigator, I am often in Tyler. I love Tyler, and I love this hotel. It is a home away from home. The staff could not be more helpful. The facility is a cut above any other Courtyard in which I have stayed, and is better than anyplace else in Tyler (with the Hilton Garden Inn in second place).

I have only one complaint from my most recent visit: The business center could easily be better. There are at least three computers (all PCs) with three printers -- but only one of the printers was working, and toner was low on that one. Moreover, the computers are souped up with weird Marriott software that made what should have been a simple task of printing a 30 page Powerpoint impossible and necessitated a late-night run to Kinkos. To the hotel I would note: There is no need for the special software. Just give us a normal PC running Windows, and a normal Mac, and maintain the printers, and everything will go more smoothly.

Still, I love this place and will miss it (until a new trial is ordered in our case).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard Tyler in late April and found it to be just what i needed during a stressful time. The king room was large, clean and beautifully decorated. However, i think you have to request the executive size room, as i was shown another room that was much smaller which i did not accept. It came w microwave and small fridge. The desk area and chair were really user friendly and i managed to do a lot of work. Did not like the lack of a closet--they use a piece of furnitiure as the closet, rather than a built in one. Capacity was really limited. Like most courtyards, food is limited, but there are several restaurants near by, including a great hamburger place across the parking lot. I recommend it.

Room Tip: There are larger and smaller king rooms. Request a larger or executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happpytraveler0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My recent stay at the Courtyard in Tyler, TX was a great experience. I will definitely make this location my choice for my return trips to the Tyler area. I will also search out more of the Courtyard locations in other areas of my territory, which includes all of Texas, Louisiana, and Oklahoma.

Thanks,
Cecil Caldwell

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our group found the Countyard and used it for a convention stay. The staff, especially the front desk were on top of everything we needed and accomodated us over and above anything we could have asked for. Rooms were just as described, clean and comfortable. My wife and I like to keep a room super cold and we actually had to turn the air up as it was cold. Great place to stay in the area and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrCourtyardTyler, Manager at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

John, thank you for posting such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel, I will be sure to share them with everyone. We are pleased that you enjoyed your convention stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Tyler
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tyler

Address: 7424 S Broadway Ave, Tyler, TX 75703-5173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range: $105 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tyler 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 69, the new Courtyard by Marriott Tyler will make your stay in Texas both productive and pleasant. This spectacular four-story hotel features the new state of the art lobby that enable guests with greater flexibility and choices that allows them to both, work and relax using our free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather with the help of the GoBoard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing