We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

While driving through Tyler searching for a place to stay for one night, we found this hotel. It was in a busy section of Broadway (Highway 69) and set back behind other buildings, however it was well marked with a sign and a clear driveway.
Anyway we dropped in to check it out and checked in. We were cheerfully greeted and immediately helped.
We were given a good room on the first floor, being large with a king bed, small frig, coffee, a desk, two chairs and a great TV. The room was very clean.
This hotel is approximately four years old and has been maintained well. It has a small workout area and a inside pool. On Wed. & Thurs. evenings each week they provide a limited cocktail mixer/gathering lasting about two hours consisting of beer, wine and small snacks.
The morning breakfast was limited and appeared hurriedly prepared.
Even thought the breakfast was limited, this is a good facility and is in a great location for travelers.
I would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavin V, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and staff. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    45
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
72
47
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rusk, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the moment I walked into the lobby I felt welcomed. Fresh baked cookies are waiting at the front desk and the staff is exceptional. The lobby, my room, the workout center and the pool/spa area are very clean. Breakfast is very good. It is more than a bagel and coffee. There are waffles, omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. The bed is comfortable and the room is very spacious. Let's go back to the cookies. I sneak one every time I go out. One of the ladies at the front desk even saved me some cookies and called me when she took them out of the oven. Please note that there was no tub in my room. Shower only. I do not know if any of their rooms have tubs. There was a king-size bed, microwave, refrigerator, and desk in my room. I felt a little spoiled staying here. I have to stay in town for my job about 4 days a month. This will be my preferred place to stay.

Room Tip: Shower only in my room. I do not know if there are rooms with tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel 2+ days a week for over 1 year. The staff & management are awesome. The hotel is extremely clean from walking in the lobby, the breakfast area and the rooms. They also have guest appreciation every Tue & Wed evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavin V, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our guest reception and thank you for you weekly return. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We now have stayed in this Country Inn and Suites a few times and over-all rate the experience above average. Remember this is a Country Inn and Suites and not the Four Seasons, but the beds are nice, the bathrooms are nicely setup, and the breakfasts are above average for an included breakfast. The pool is average for this price point.

Now the rest of the story. Tyler Texas is the home to a number of good BBQ places, antique stores, and of course the world famous Tyler roses. Old Tyler has many stylish homes and in the Holiday Season a nice home tour. And a number of nice restaurants in the area near the hotel.

Remember this hotel is on the south side of Tyler a few miles away from the Interstate.

So while we would rate the Inn on the lower side of a 4 and maybe a 3, the total experience that this a solid 4.

Room Tip: The suites are nicer than the regular rooms. If you are going to stay more than two nights the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love-bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavin V, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and all that we have to off. We value and look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a great spacious double queen room on the 2nd floor. The beds and pillows were very comfy. Nice roomy bathroom with large sink area and great water shower pressure. Even had a little fridge in our room to keep our drinks cold and put our leftovers in. Great free breakfast in the morning that includes both hot and cold items. Free fresh baked cookies in the afternoon too! Hotel is set back off the road so have to be really looking for the sign. If coming from the north you have to make a u-turn to get to hotel. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. No real downsides to this hotel other than rooms are not completely soundproof especially when a large number of women are coming down the hall together. They ended up in the room right next to us and we could hear most of their conversation until they quieted down. Thank goodness it wasn't past ten o'clock yet or we might have had to complain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigthicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Clean spacious rooms. In town to complete a vehicle repossession, and needed to get some shut eye. This hotel was homey from the moment I walked in. Staff were very friendly. Extral large room. Walk in shower (yea!) In a large bathroom. Worth the money. Wifi works well :-). Had coffee maker too (must have for early morning start).

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pabrown210432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavin V, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We thank you for your review on our hotel and the wonderful stay you had. My team and I STRIVE to give the best at home feeling we can. When you are ever in the area again we hope that you choose our property because we would love to have you return.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Only stayed at this location in order to use some Club Carlson award points and the city was close to Dallas airport wher I needed to be on the next day. The location was not hard to find, even when located way from the Interstate, and had plenty of parking spaces available. On the late afternoon of my arrival, I had severe troubles accessing the internet, a reset performed by the front desk employee was futile. In the evening, I spotted a few ants on my desk. Being exhausted, I ignored it and got rid of them. The next morning, I was unable to ignore it anymore since I found dozens and dozens of these creatures in the bathroom, on and near the coffee tray, on the desk and yes, even in bed. That was just sheer horror! Although I had foreseen to stay for yet another hour or two in my room, I packed my bags immediately to leave this hotel at once.
At the front desk, I asked for the manager and when he showed up, I showed him an empty coffee cup with a dozen of those ants in it, collected from near the coffee tray. He acknowledged my complaint, apologized, offered me a refund and I made him promise that no other people would stay in that room until the ant problem was solved completely.
I will never stay at this place again unless I would have no other options available and that I would be 200% certain that pest control pays regular visits to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VOYVOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavin V, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I would like to truly apologize again for the problems that you had with our property, and I would like to assure you that this will not be a normal issue for our property. If your ever in the area again and feel differently we would love to have you return to your Carlson home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler South
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Southpark Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tyler - South
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tyler
Residence Inn Tyler
#7 of 37 in Tyler
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South
Address: 6702 South Broadway, Tyler, TX 75703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tyler
#7 Family Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tyler South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tyler South
Country Inn & Suites Tyler South Hotel Tyler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing