We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value.. clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 12 Oaks Motor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
12 Oaks Motor Hotel
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Simonton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value.. clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just needed one Sat. night stay to attend a local event. Staff was very courteous, checked in early. Were chaperoning a teen all nighter at another location so was in and out of the room at 3:00 AM and all was very quiet. Slept in unil close to check out time with no disturbances. Very clean room. last remodel was done very well. Liked the wood-like floor and unexpected fridge and microwave. No clock/radio/alarm in room, but I seldom use those anyway. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sevencs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and i looked dor a cheap room for a night for over a hour. We found this one, checked out a room and was surprised at what i saw for the peice! Ita clean nice and they are so respectful. Totally staying here when we have to make our trips to Tyler! Very satisfied!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selflesslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great for the price I paid. The staff was more than friendly and made the stay nice. Of course it wasn't the fanciest hotel, but it was better than a lot of the other ones I've seen or looked around at. Would recommend them for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed only one night at this hotel on Oct 14, 2013. We were on our way home from the cruise trip at Port of New Orleans.

Elegant from the outside, modern (marble like countertops: both sink and dresser), spacious, clean and smell clean inside. Our room was non-smoking and had a king size bed with a coffee maker, microwave and a mini-fridge. Compared to other hotels: great rate or the best rate per night you can ever get for the quality of the room.

However, the down side is we discovered two flies sitting on our pillows. We spent lots of time trying to chase them out of the room and I later spotted a bug on the light fixture in the bathroom which I'm sure was a cockroach. Also, the handle of the shower/bath water faucet fell off into our hands when we first turned it on, and we had to push it back in for it to stay on. That made it hard to know what position was hot or cold water. And if that weren't enough, only some water came out from the shower head and the rest from the faucet which made it longer for the water to drain from the bathtub. We either had water came up way above our ankle level or constantly turned it off and turned it back on again to finish the shower.

I made the first complaint later on at night before bed. A young front desk lady could only say sorry. The next morning at 8 a.m. when we checked out, I made another complaint to another front desk lady who also made an apology, thanked me for letting her know about the problems and said that she would have someone check the shower faucet.

Even though when I reserved the room at this hotel without knowing that the phone number, 800-992-2694, I got off from an On-line reservation wasn't the hotel reservation number, my husband and I felt that we should have at least been credited or refunded for some of the charge we paid for the room.

For the looks of the hotel and the quality of the hotel room and the great rate, this hotel could have been the best of all hotels you could ever find if they would have thoroughly checked to make sure that everything is working properly and would have maintained it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed two nights at the 12 Oaks Hotel in October 2013. I was in Tyler alone to run in the Tyler Rose Marathon and needed an inexpensive, comfortable place to stay. I chose this hotel after reading user reviews. This hotel is a great value for someone not looking for lots of luxury and amenities. It's an older motel/hotel but has a recent renovation and is very attractive with nice landscaping. The buildings form a ring with free, safe parking on the interior of the grounds. There is a very small pool and the lobby is small (but nicely decorated). There is no restaurant, no bar, no continental breakfast. There was a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker in the room but no alarm clock, no artwork, no ballpoint pen and no pad of paper. Free Wi-Fi in the room as well as in public areas, nice flat screen TV, very comfortable bed (but lumpy pillows) and good water pressure. Neat little charging station with outlets on the nightstand for charging your phone, iPad, Nook, Kindle, etc. The room was clean and comfortable. The pictures I have seen are very accurate representations of the room. I see people commenting on the "hardwood floors" but they are not hardwood. They are linoleum flooring that look very much like hardwood and even have some texture to them. They look great and undoubtedly are cleaner than carpet. I had problems connecting to the Wi-Fi and the staff was very helpful and responsive in assisting me. Easy access location on the Loop close to the Caldwell Zoo, the Tyler Rose Garden, convenience stores, Wal-Mart, Denny's and lots of fast food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ok here's the TRUTH! The office was tiny and dingy. The room was awesome! The roomkeepers didn't know English, so no extra towles. They didn't have a non smoking room available. Internet signal was not strong enough, so no wifi! And finally, they didn't charge my card till two weeks later, and it screwed my back account up! I stayed 09-19-13 till 09-21-13

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikiad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I loved the hardwood flooring in the room. It was all very clean and smelled cleaned I loved the attention to detail such as the swan towels on the bed and the fan towels. Beds were comfy and clean. Rooms are spacious. Great hotel fora cheap rate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
5.8 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel and Conference Center Tyler
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Tyler - Lindale
5.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
4.6 mi away
Value Place Tyler
Value Place Tyler
#17 of 37 in Tyler
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 Oaks Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 Oaks Motor Hotel

Property: 12 Oaks Motor Hotel
Address: 3100 W Northwest Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75702-1338
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 12 Oaks Motor Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your 12 Oaks Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing