We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT in every way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT in every way!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is super clean! Updated furniture in lobby and in rooms. Breakfast is perfect, and reasonable. The travelers there were oil men and lawyers. we had the place to ourselves in mid summer mind you! the indoor pool was excellent, clean and had toys! plus a hot tub! the work out room was updated, clean and fun to use! Front desk was so nice! I mean super nice! I had an upset stomach, she let me go in the pantry and got what i needed for free! THere are complimentary cookies when you walk in evenings. plus coffee, hot water, cocoa, all the fixings 24 hr. next time im in tyler, this is where Im staying!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    123
    41
    27
    17
See reviews for
184
112
27
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laurelville, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very satisfied with the exception of 4 issues: 1-HGI would not honor AAA, AARP, or Senior Discount! 2-Utilizing printing from your room using WiFi access to print at the guest's Business Office did not work! I just checked it out and it has been corrected! I sent an e-mail to the HGI Business Office and called with the 6 digit pin number and had the desk clerk print it out! 3-They initially billed us for 800 phone calls! When I mentioned it at checkout they removed the fee! 4-The breakfast buffet ran out of watermellon one morning and had a problem keeping the orange juice available another morning! They have a great buffet though with the exception of these two issues! We were truly impressed with the HGI facility, which was built and opened in April of 2009! This facility has been well maintained! We were also impressed with the entire staff at the HGI in Tyler in providing services for their guests! We will compliment two employees in particular: Amanda who is a great Desk Clerk and Rosa who provides services at the Breakfast Buffet! The entire staff at the HGI were great! We would recommend the HGI at Tyler, Texas!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The air condition in the 3rd floor hallway did not work the entire length of our stay and the bed was very uncomfortable and squeaked all night long. We left early to get some rest. The staff at the front desk was efficient, pleasant, and polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stay in the Hilton Garden Inn Tyler one night every year with my husband, the night before picking my daughter up from a nearby summer camp. We look forward to our stay. It's a great excuse for a date night, so we upgrade our room and plan an evening out. We have enjoyed the Hilton Garden Inn because it is modern and clean, located near plenty of restaurants and activities, and we've found the upgraded rooms to be quite comfortable.

This year we didn't get what we paid for. Upon check in, the two very polite folks at the desk asked whether we've ever stayed at their hotel before. They seemed surprised when we said that we're returning customers. Odd. We made our way up to the room on the third floor.

Upon getting out of the elevator, the heat in the hallway was an unpleasant smack in the face. We made our way through the steamy air to the room, which was not near where our upgraded room typically is. The room we always reserve has two adjoined rooms -- one is a bedroom, the other a living room. There are two bathrooms. This year our room was a modified room for wheelchair ease-of-use. This isn't a big deal, but it was the first sign that something was off. The room was clean and nicely decorated - a small living area, one bathroom, and sleeping area. Not two rooms. Only one bathroom. Frustrating, but tolerable.

The real trouble with the room was discovered upon our return after dinner. The bed was like sleeping on the floor -- overly firm. We always look forward to the comfortable beds at the Hilton Garden Inn, and we appreciate the opportunity for a kids-free, uninterrupted night of sleep. Not this time. The room -- I always request a king-sized bed -- was a double. So it was a small little slab of mattress-like concrete. Not remotely comfortable. The temperature in the room was inconsistent throughout the night also. I didn't sleep a solid hour all night and finally gave up on trying before sunrise.

I've had great experiences at this hotel before, but I did not get what I reserved this times. I over-paid for a poor user experience. I'm looking for alternatives for next summer, if anyone has suggestions!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Staff were friendly, rooms clean, breakfasts were a little chaotic. The facility was crowded for multiple wedding parties the weekend of June 14 and the staff had difficulty keeping up. Still, overall, a great venue! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on 4 different occasions now as we have family in Tyler and visit often. We are Hilton Honors Diamond members so we look for Hilton properties...this is one of the best.

The rooms are spacious and the trey ceiling design makes them feel a great deal more spacious and open than the usual boxiness of a hotel room.

It's nice to have a microwave and a mini refrigerator in each room.

I love that this property offers a stocked pantry of snacks drinks and other items for purchase 24/7. This feature, in my opinion, is far superior to vending machines.

The pool and hot tub is located indoors here and while the pool is rather small, it's definitely a plus.

We enjoy the free breakfasts at Hamptons but don't mind paying for breakfast here since there is the added bonus of the made-to-order service. Fresh fruit, yogurts, oatmeal, made-to-order omlettes, meats and hashbrowns, juices, teas, coffees...it's outstanding.

We will be back! For us, there are no other hotels in Tyler. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellevuebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. Rooms were cleaned, although ours were cleaned quite late in the day (3pm or later) which was annoying. There is a VERY loud refridgerator behind the front desk that you can hear from the entire lobby. Don't plan on relaxing in the lobby with a book. Breakfast was not free and was expensive. We drove down the road to Panera instead. Oddly enough, we never seemed to see the same people working behind the front desk. There was a large group who were there one night that took up several rooms near ours. They allowed their children to run up and down the hall screaming between 9 and midnight. We did call the front desk who came down once to ask them to stop but did not continue to monitor the situation. We would have said more about it but the people checked out after one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tyler - South
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Tyler
Courtyard Tyler
#12 of 37 in Tyler
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler South
2.9 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel and Conference Center - Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tyler

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
Address: 220 East Grande, Tyler, TX 75703-4276
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tyler
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tyler
#7 Business Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tyler 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Tyler is set just five miles south of the city center, just off Highway 69, is in the heart of Tyler’s southern business district, and near the Tyler Rose Garden. The Great American Grill® serves up a hot cooked-to-order breakfast each morning and hearty American dishes for dinner and evening room service. Enjoy complimentary high-speed internet. Host a meeting or banquet in 3,000 sq. ft. of function space and utilize the services in our 24-hour business center. Rejuvenate in the indoor pool, or work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler Hotel Tyler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing