We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
2
13
3
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
13
3
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2016

I am a SCUBA diver. I came for the springs. State park cabins are generally clean, but time always takes a toll so don't expect Embassy Suites. So if you are diver or snorkler you will be in for a very pleasant experience in the high desert of West Texas.

The water has a visability of about 30-50 feet depending on the number of swimmers in the water. As you descend from the shallow pool into a more natural spring setting you will forget the swimmers. Fresh water vegitation and a gravel rocky bottom hide a number of aquatic species some found only in this spring. The gravel bouncies up and down in places as millions of gallons of water are forced by artesian pressure. Great dive place with basic rustic cabins.

Room tip: Cabins 13-17 have the best views.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JRJ645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with the rooms on the state park. It was clean with a concrete floor. Unfortunately, the shower head was useless, but there was warm water. It was silent at night and generally dark. You could see the stars great!!!

Bring your own shampoo, soap, conditioner. There was a mini fridge, which we appreciated for leftovers and sandwich stuff. There were picnic tables and simple grills close to the rooms for use.

If you want to check out before the office opens at 8 or 9AM, prepay your stay and leave the key in the room.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2015

The San Solomon Spring Courts are very basic, and that's great. If you stay here, you really get a feel for what it would be like to visit this West Texas oasis in the 1930's for a respite. We stayed in room 101 and while spartan it was clean. The courts retain much of the same character they had when the Civilian Conversation Corps built them along with the beautiful spring pool. There are tables and grills right outside your door, and the wetlands are a short walk one way, and the spring fed pool a short walk the other way. It's truly a unique experience.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015

I’ve never used a Texas State Park overnight so maybe I don’t know the reality of public accommodations, however, how did we let our state government get so overloaded w/ “health & human services” that the operating budget for State Parks System is so meager? I’m sure the staff at Balmorhea State Park labors diligently and is over-worked maintaining the massive dessert oasis in west Texas, but it is not kept up very well and unless the west Texas district is being short-changed they are being overwhelmed. Our multi-night stay in their “casitas” called San Solomon Springs Court was an unmitigated disaster. We’re a small family of modest means not used to fancy hotels; yet, conditions in this little “motel” by the large swimming pool at Balmorhea were downright disgusting: our room had way too many flies to control, it took two nights to get on top of the situation w/ my own work and bug spray; there were “critters” scampering about in the middle of the night inside the walls and attic (I could see many entry spots on the outside during daytime which were uncovered), and the surfaces (walls, floors, bathroom) were very soiled!? On a scale of 1 to 5 w/ a cheap Motel 5 ½ being a 3, and 5 being the cleanest & best, this two-room pit was a 1. The beds were OK, the TV barely focused, bathroom looked like the local high school locker room w/ no janitor for the last 2 years, but mercifully it had an AC that worked well in the hot, arid climate! I’m sure many visitors give the spring-fed pool high marks and we loved our experience by the cool clear waters; nevertheless the non-campsite, accommodations were terrible and an embarrassment to our fine state gov't park system. I saw that the weekends were crowded but during the week, it was a perfect swimming pool at the foot of the scenic Davis Mountains, with plenty of play areas and a few strategic shade trees. Bring lots of sunblock, lawn chairs, snorkel & mask, a picnic lunch, and a good book. It is a classic Texas summer hideout in the middle of west Texas, which time and money forgot… We would go back to swim but without our own camping equipment, we’d never spend a night at the San Solomon Springs Court. Sorry to give it my poorest rating!

Room tip: Suite 12 has gaps in roof which allow critters to stay above you and play football in the attic
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2015

I gave it 4 stars for being as described/meeting expectations. This isn't a four star hotel though. It is more like staying in a cabin and a step up from camping out.
The walls are very thick which meant it was quiet. The room was clean.
The bed was comfortable. The furnishings are very sparse, but we knew that before we got there. There is a bed, large closet area, dresser with drawers, old tv, microwave, refrigerator, and one chair and that is about it. There is no phone, coffee pot, and outlets are limited and only semi functional. Cell phone signals were limited to non-existent. We stayed two nights. There was no housekeeping service during our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The reason to stay here is the location. The park is pretty and the room has a large (but old) window to enjoy the view. We could watch hummingbirds, rabbits, turtles and birds in the marsh area. The room is a very short walk from the pool which is outstanding. This is not a place to work or party, but a place to chill out and unwind. I enjoyed the stay and would stay here again.

Room tip: There are 18 rooms in a U shape, 2 are single king beds, 16 triple queen beds. Room 9 is next to the ice machine.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews