We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Texas Barbecue”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clark's Outpost Bar-B-Q - CLOSED

Clark's Outpost Bar-B-Q
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“True Texas Barbecue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the epitome of true Texas barbecue. Folks have come for over 30 years to get great BBQ but it is a little pricey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Texas BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are a lot of great BBQ joints in Texas and I would rate this one up in the top 20. Food was good, but the real "old Texas" experience with awesome service gave this joint 4 out of 5 on my list. If you're up in the Tioga area, it's definitely worth a stop in for some great BBQ.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dduren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas & Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was it tasty? Yes. Was it reasonably priced? No. Was it worth the drive from Dallas? Definitely not. Staff was very pleasant. Ribs were well-smoked, but tough and a fairly small portion. The ribeye steak, highly recommended by our server was OK and a little over-cooked, but nothing special. Fries were well-done and plentiful, cole slaw was quite good. But prices were typical of a much more up-scale restaurant. If you happen to be in the neighborhood and hungry, Clark's is likely your best bet. But definitely not worth more than a short drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GH-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Clarks Outpost in Tioga Texas is a must stop place. Try the Rib pieces as an appetizer then get a combo plate with out ribs to try two other meats. I cannot go there without eating some of the best smoked brisket around. Then finish the evening off with a slice of coconut or chocolate meringue pie!

It is a bit expensive for the normal BBQ category but it is well worth it. This time I came all the way from Doha Qatar and this was my first BBQ stop on this trip, I waited 6 days to eat BBQ just so I could eat at Clark's first!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlcwacjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Finger Licking Good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my family have patronized Clark's for many years! The wait staff are always very friendly and very attentive!!
Tonight I took my boss, his boss and several other directors and managers from my company! The ribs were tender and the flavor was so delicious!! They commented that the ribs were some of the best they had ever had!! Appetizers and side dishes were very good! The desserts are to die for!! The Hilliards and help do an excellent job!! Thank you Clark's!! Always a fantastic meal!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dxarms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clark's Outpost Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing