We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN but Lacking Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We go to the Woodlands resort several times each year for the past 3 years and unfortunately the last 2 stays have not been as good as previous ones. (March and June 2010) Poolside service is horrible - you get faster service if you walk over to the bar as opposed to waiting for one of the FEW waiters/waitresses that are poolside to come to you.
The poolside rooms are by far the best for convenience but way over priced - even on a week day. For the past 3 years it has been the same activities - but not complaining. My kids LOVE Muffie the Clown and the Balloon guy. In fact - that is what makes it all worth it. The S'mores are great but we missed it the first night b/c we lost track of time - no one announces crafts, s'mores - anything. You truly have to be paying attention.
Breakfast buffet is great but again - over priced. Especially for the kids. It was easier and less expensive to get in the car and drive to the mall and eat at Panera.
I would recommend this hotel but I suggest you bring your own snacks and drinks.
Oh, and they charge you of you need a roll away so making pallets on the floor for the kids is def the way to go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loco4lsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Thank you first and foremost for choosing to spend your vacations with us. We know you always have a choice and appreciate you returning year after year. Thank you also for your feedback and suggestions. We continually seek to improve upon our service and amenities and will take your comments under consideration as we move forward. We apologize that the service was not what you expected and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

Booked the family fun weekend special.
Loved the pool, dive-in movies, s'mores, bike ride, kids activities at pool and the
fantastic breakfast buffet included.
poolside servers were great and food was tasty and reasonably priced.
The room was in a quiet part of the hotel and was just right for our family of 4.
Husband and I took turns at the spa. Fabulous massage and facial!

My only complaint was the cost of internet access in the room and/or business center. Just wanted a quick check of email and thought $5 was overpriced for this amenity.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Costa_Rica_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the great family activities we have to offer. Our Spa is a treat for all who try it and I trust it was a much needed respite for both you and your husband. It looks like the kids had fun as well. We offer our guests complimentary internet access in the main lobby and the Lobby Bar for their convenience. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We love coming to the resort. It is very relaxing and is only a one hour trip from our home to arrive and feel like you are in a different world. We were very pleased to find that the forest rooms had received an update in the bedding and tv this year. The pool is relaxing and fun, lots for families to do. The resort is convenient to the mall which has a movie theater and lots of resturant choices. We love the value of the package deal which includes the made to order breakfast in the dining room. We love coming here so much that this year we had family to join us!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and others regarding your recent stay. We have made various improvements around the property and are happy to hear you enjoyed them. We are happy to hear you have shared our location with your friends and family and we look forward to seeing all of you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Overall the kids had fun. But we were dissapointed with the facilites. The rooms were older, the food was expensive (way too expensive for breakfast buffet!), not really hiking trails more like biking trails. The pool was decent, but nothing more then we could get in our neighborhood. The outdoor movie was started way too early and you couldnt even see it on the screen. Staff was friendly. Overall stay was fine, but the place is not was is hyped up to be.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy00070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear your kids enjoyed our resort amenities. Our 180 miles of hiking and biking trails can be enjoyed on foot or on one of our rented bicycles. Thank you for your feedback regarding the movie time start. We do our best to start the movie at a reasonable time for all of our guests. We will take your comments under consideration and hope that you might consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We've stayed at the Woodlands Resort many times with our kids. The rooms are great, and the facilities are excellent, but summer weekends (we were there for Father's Day) draw too many people to the resort. The pools were jam-packed and parking was very hard to come by.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somearchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to hear you are a repeat guest of ours. We make every effort to ensure all guests have an enjoyable time during their stay. Shuttles are available to and from all of our parking lots through out the day and evening to accommodate guests. We hope we will continue to be on your list of summer vacation spots.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

For the amount of money I paid for my room I expected better. I feel I was robbed. I recently stayed at the MGM in Connecticut and paid less and had better service. The first morning I attempted to get an early workout but when I arrived the gym was locked when it should have been open an hour earlier. It took 3 employees to open the door. I mentioned there was a deadbolt on the door but each time the employees insisted there was no deadbolt when I can clearly the lock. Later that day I took my children to the Forest Oasis, I sat there for over an hour without as much as "can I get you anything". The waitress passed us up SEVERAL times servicing the families next to us before one stopped then told me she would have a waitress come right over. Waited another 15 or 20 minutes and out of frustration I walked over to the cafe myself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiterivers219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We regret your experience was less than expected. This level of service is not our standard and will be addressed with our staff. We appreciate the feedback and will be addressing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We had no idea that this hotel was even around. We were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very clean and very comfortable. The room was a little smaller than we are used to, but we did not spend all of our time in the room. This hotel has a pool area that is AWESOME. The depth is mostly 4ft. a couple of places are not more than 5 ft., they have a 30 ft slid, they offer complementary face painting, balloon making, a movie night at the pool, live music, and the kids get to make smores. We had the best time ~ the kids did not want to leave. The Pool Cafe was reasonably priced. The Margaritas are too good! Watching the kids playing in the pool, sipping on cold margaritas, and listening to some good live music made our weekend a paradise. We will defiantly be making this Hotel our Summer stop from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you and your family we able to enjoy all the great poolside amenities we offer and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
1.4 mi away
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
1.4 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#4 of 18 in The Woodlands
442 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort

Address: 2301 N Millbend Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range: $168 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis water park with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing