We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Birthday breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands

Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands
Ranked #4 of 201 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Black Walnut Cafe is a contemporary American fast casual concept that appeals to everyone. Whether you want an eggs Benedict, coffee, dessert, martini, a hand crafted sandwich, certified Angus pot roast or an Asian tuna salad, we have it all.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would give this place an Excellent rating, but I ordered Eggs Benedict and the Hollandaise sauce wasn't as lemony as I like. Other than that, this very busy café was perfect for our occasion. Varied menu, reasonable prices, plenty of room both inside and out and very good food. No complaints from any of the eight people in our party, The orange juice was freshly squeezed which was unusual.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    123
    37
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food , Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food is always good here ,especially the breakfasts
In the evening they do good cocktails. The screwdrivers are excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The perfect breakfast place, Black Walnut is a brilliantly cozy cafe with mouthwatering food choices.
The decor of the place is very artistic and has a warm inviting feel to it. The food( mainly omelettes, sandwiches) is very appetizing and hearty. The prices are amazingly low for the taste, quality and experience. They have a variety of iced teas(peach, mango..etc).
The Gellato is divine- especially the coconut and tiramisu.

Wonderful place to sit back , relax and have a nice brunch w/ Gellato and enjoy a lazy Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChirayuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great place BUT noisy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is such a fun place...high end cozy casual. Fresh food and great atmosphere make this one of my top places in the Woodlands! There are two things that you have to accept in order to keep going back...one is the lack of parking (it's CRAZY during rush hours!) and the noise level (super noisy to the point that my husband said he doesn't enjoy his time there because of the noise). They say restaurants make it noisy to get turn over. If that's true...that's sad because this is such a great place! Because of the noise level though, it's not a place where I meet friends because we know we can't hear each other. The food and atmosphere are awesome though!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoniBaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice cafe with good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've gone to the Black Walnut Cafe for breakfast and lunch and have not been disappointed. Their french toast is delicious and they have a good variety of sandwiches, drinks, salads, and other offerings. For those for whom it is the first time visiting this location, the menus are generally by the entrance, but you order and pay for your food in the back of the restaurant directly opposite the door. You will then be given a buzzer to let you know when your food is ready to get picked up (your food does not get brought out to you). They also have gelato and desserts for those that prefer to have a smaller meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing