We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem!”

Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands
Ranked #7 of 220 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Black Walnut Cafe is a contemporary American fast casual concept that appeals to everyone. Whether you want an eggs Benedict, coffee, dessert, martini, a hand crafted sandwich, certified Angus pot roast or an Asian tuna salad, we have it all.
Baroda
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The perfect breakfast place, Black Walnut is a brilliantly cozy cafe with mouthwatering food choices.
The decor of the place is very artistic and has a warm inviting feel to it. The food( mainly omelettes, sandwiches) is very appetizing and hearty. The prices are amazingly low for the taste, quality and experience. They have a variety of iced teas(peach, mango..etc).
The Gellato is divine- especially the coconut and tiramisu.

Wonderful place to sit back , relax and have a nice brunch w/ Gellato and enjoy a lazy Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChirayuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    160
    47
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place BUT noisy!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is such a fun place...high end cozy casual. Fresh food and great atmosphere make this one of my top places in the Woodlands! There are two things that you have to accept in order to keep going back...one is the lack of parking (it's CRAZY during rush hours!) and the noise level (super noisy to the point that my husband said he doesn't enjoy his time there because of the noise). They say restaurants make it noisy to get turn over. If that's true...that's sad because this is such a great place! Because of the noise level though, it's not a place where I meet friends because we know we can't hear each other. The food and atmosphere are awesome though!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoniBaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice cafe with good variety”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've gone to the Black Walnut Cafe for breakfast and lunch and have not been disappointed. Their french toast is delicious and they have a good variety of sandwiches, drinks, salads, and other offerings. For those for whom it is the first time visiting this location, the menus are generally by the entrance, but you order and pay for your food in the back of the restaurant directly opposite the door. You will then be given a buzzer to let you know when your food is ready to get picked up (your food does not get brought out to you). They also have gelato and desserts for those that prefer to have a smaller meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice upscale cafe”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Black walnut is a great place to go for a solid lunch, a date night dinner, or dessert. Their meals are reasonably sized and a little pricy, but its an upscale café so it makes sense. Their desserts are awesome. Brunch is very busy on the weekends and lunch during the week can be busy as well.

This visit was a lunch and we got there around 1130 and had no problem getting our food quickly. I had the bleu cheese burger with sweet potato fries and it was awesome. They have a good selection of teas as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClutchChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First time, won't be last”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I tried this delightful place for dinner and we were so impressed. The atmosphere is very relaxing with a mixture of people for dinner, dessert and coffee and some just for drinks. We started with chips with guac and salsa, both of which were made at the restaurant. My wife thought they were a little on the spicy side but I didn't notice. The ordering system was creative too; instead of sitting at a table, you take a menu, decide what you want, then go up to the front to order (sort of like a Panera or Chipotle). My wife got the meatball sandwich with sweet potato fries which she loved. I had the pot roast. This came with vegetables, potatoes, a large salad and garlic bread. All of it was wonderful. The roast was so tender I cut it with just a fork. Also, the portions you are given are very generous; neither of us could finish. However, that did not stop us from ordering dessert. We ordered a slice of turtle cheesecake and one of hummingbird cake. I had never heard of this before but it is a banana spice cake with pineapple and pecans. Think carrot cake texture, without the carrots. All in all it was a great time. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the mood was lively and inviting and the food was delicious. We will certainly be going back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexAgs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands also viewed

 

Been to Black Walnut Cafe - The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing