We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a great place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Mug Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Mug Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Blue Mug Cafe strives to create the same comfortable atmosphere you enjoy at home, or to build a relaxing one with you. What can be a special occasion visit can mean a neighborhood family dinner as well.The Blue Mug Cafe is the place to have a networking breakfast, it is a place where you can enjoy a nice early coffee in the morning while reading the news or your favorite book, it is where you can invite your friends for a nice and delicious lunch, or even where to take your partner or family to enjoy their company over a wonderful dinner.The restaurant features a full menu of moderately priced food influenced by international tastes, and combines them with time-honored recipes form around the world. Enjoy a wonderful Oriental Chicken Salad, satisfy yourself with fulfilling great sandwiches, or choose from the many other options available in appetizers, soups, salads, sandwiches, pasta, burgers and specialty entrees.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be a great place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The Blue Mug Cafe is a really frustrating place. It has the potential to be a great local bar and restaurant, but it's insistence on eschewing waiting staff leads to problems that drive you to look at other local alternatives (such as The Eden Cafe in Magnolia).

Our experience seems similar to others here, long waits in line to order food (especially for Sunday brunch), and long waits for the food to be announced. The food has the potential to be very food but often arrives on the colder side of Luke warm (this could be due to the fact that your food is left on a marble surface apparently underneath an AC vent!).

Another issue is the lack of children, sized portions. My 5 year old is a growing boy but can hardly be expected to tackle an adult sized portion of pancakes!

I truly hope that the Blue Mug Cafe re-assesses its business model and employs some serving staff in the near future so that it can move to become the place that it has the potential to be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzamannuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    15
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been a few times since they opened and we have all enjoyed our meals. The Mita Stew is amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlemum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a new restaurant and offers a nice variety of food. The place is spacious and clean, nicely decorated and the persons who work there were nice. I ordered an Asian Chicken Salad and it was delicious with the right amount of dressing, and had a lot of chicken, a very nice portion (around $11.00). Similar to other restaurants in the area, they give you a "buzzer" to let you know when your order is ready. I did not try the gelato but it looked good. It is located in a new shopping center, behind the Exxon Gas Station (which is in front of the Woodlands Parway's Walmart), so it is not very visible: I hope they can do more advertising or have a sign showing that it is there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice presentation - Needs a little work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant is very trendy looking - clean, sleek, inviting, but a lot of that stops at the door. There is a very nice little bar area to the left as you walk in. The eating area is to the right. You proceed straight ahead where you order at a register. The two times I've been there the person at the register was not as familiar with the menu as they should have been. You then receive a buzzer, your drink glasses (unless you are getting wine) and proceed to find a table. If you order wine, they have the table wines at the register. If you order a better wine, you must then proceed to the bar where you will wait and wait and wait to get your glass of wine - it is a generous pour. I have not had a table inside, but the outside area is charming. However, this is Houston and it will not be charming for the next several months when we are in the 90's. I have had the shrimp/pasta/greens salad and it is very good. The shrimp is cooked to perfection. My husband has had the burger and said it was mediocre. Our friends ordered hot food and it was not hot. They sent it back and the second try was still not hot. That said, when we ran out of chips for the guac they did give us another serving gratis. I am hoping this place will turn into a neighborhood gem but they will have to step up the quality of the food and service for this to happen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level Contributor
161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Ouch!!! Very loud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good food but excruciating noise level!! I've been there twice...had the pasta and shrimp dish and the Chinese Chicken Salad. Both were tasty and enjoyable. The first time we sat on the patio...the second time we sat inside and didn't have such a great time. The noise level was extremely high...in fact, the loudest I've ever encountered and the restaurant was probably 1/2 full when we finally picked up our meal, glasses, etc. and moved into an adjacent small room but that didn't help. When we left it was about 2/3 full and unbearable. Sorry to say, because of the extreme noise, I won't be able to go back unless it's during off peak hours. I talked to the manager (who was very nice) and she said they are building two more cafes in the area and will share this information. I hope they take the feedback because this cafe was really fun and good and I'd like to see them succeed.

You place your order at the register and are given a remote beeper. You pick up your food when it lights up. The dessert (which is in a case at the register) looks yummy! The sandwiches are huge! One lady said they split a sandwich and order an extra fries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoniBaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mug Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing