We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Too much money for small room, but people are awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in The Woodlands
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too much money for small room, but people are awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here due to the convenience of the Cynthia Woods Pavillion & Keith Urban. The room costing 320 was too high for the size of the room. The room was clean, beds were comfy and staff was awesome. Being able to walk to the conference made the price dueable. If going to a concert at Cynthia Woods I'd do it again even though the price is high.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardy813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    164
    71
    27
    15
See reviews for
56
134
20
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for my short 2 day trip in Houston. The design of the rooms are very modern and the smell inside of the hotel is relaxing. It's a great place to have a wedding as the hotel has big ball rooms. I had a room with a view to the river in front of the pond with gold fish. It's a nice and cozy place to take off your high heels and take an evening run by the river. The movie theater is right across the street, coffee shop, restaurants, bars, shops ..everything is located near by and it's very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saveatree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Very fancy place. We should stay in Marriotts more often because this was exquisite. Fast and easy check-in. The elevators were speedy. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. I ordered room service one night and it tasted like I was at a good steakhouse. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luf2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my first visit to this hotel and I enjoyed it very much.
First I must say the staff is the greatest. I never passed a staff member without them extending a greeting. Everyone from the desk to food service to housekeeping and the door staff were very friendly and professional. The property is well maintained and sits within an beautiful area. I would enjoy the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This property has it all! You can park your car for days and just hang out. There are so may great places to walk to for happy hour, have a great sit down dinner, a sports bar with the guys, or dinner and a movie with your honey. The river walk is small but very nice. Somewhat like Oklahoma City, but smaller. There are several tour quality golf courses minutes away and 2 great shopping areas, the Woodlands mall and my favorite the Market Street. The convention area would be a great place to have meetings, especially since everyone could walk to dinner and hang out. The only issue with this Marriott is, you need bring someone to hang out with and several days to do it. I will go back the next time I go to Houston if I can stay up north.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for a 'stay-cation' from our home. We walked across the skyway on the 3rd floor for convenient access to the concert pavilion. The hotel is walking distance from a movie theater, and the Woodlands Mall, and plenty of shopping, dining, wine bars, and night life.

Our room was clean and spacious with all of the amenities we needed. We had a corner suite, and we had a small balcony with small cafe table and chairs. I noticed other balconies as well, but do not know if all rooms have a balcony.

There is a rooftop hot tub that we also enjoyed in the evening.

The bar inside the hotel is small and quite, with nice staff.

Ling Ling assisted us with our check-in and was a delight with a sense of humor. The valet staff and bellmen were also very nice.

I did not care too much for the open-air dining conditions; we did not eat, but dining is in a rather exposed area, not in a separate room or area.

The Spa looked nice, but we did no utilize it due to time constraints.

We have decided that we would rather go here for a 'stay-cation' than to downtown Houston as there is so much more to see and do within walking distance of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyInFrswd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

For our quarterly sales meeting I chose this Marriott property. It was very short notice (2 weeks in advance) and they were able to accommodate us and exceed expectations. The reason I gave it 4 stars was because it is not in the same class as the Oberoi Amarvilas in Agra or The Fairmont in DC, both of which I visited recently. It is a very nice Marriott.

The food for the meeting was excellent - nice continental breakfast spread, a Texas Barbecue lunch day 1 and sandwiches day 2, a mix your own trail mix snack for afternoon break. Catering managers ket popping in to make sure all was well. The Red Coat staff was excellent. Catering staff guarded our spread from passersby (this sounds trivial, but does not happen everywhere and can be a problem).

The meeting room had windows!!! It is in within easy walking distance of nightlife, restaurants and shopping. The main complaint is no shuttle from IAH airport.

The food in the lobby restaurant was not as good as the meeting food, which was the only disappointing part of my stay.

I highly recommend this hotel for corporate meetings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
0.3 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#10 of 19 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#6 of 19 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Property: The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1162
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing