We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very enjoyable hotel stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in The Woodlands
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable hotel stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Marriott hotel was a good choice, the room was clean and well appointed, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The Woodlands area around the hotel is beautiful, safe, clean and extremely well maintained. There are tons of choices of restaurants, bars, shopping and scenic areas to walk. All in, a very nice relaxing place to stay. It would have been good to have a safe in our room. Seemed odd that there wasn't one. Your best bets for dining are restaurants around the hotel, the food selection is unlimited. The fitness facility is small but is well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    174
    72
    27
    15
See reviews for
59
139
20
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for our 6th anniversary. Check in was fast and the room was clean. The hotel is located in the middle of all the shopping and restaurants. Overall, the hotel stay was ok but I think a couple things that they got wrong, could have changed their score from 3 to a 5. The first thing was housekeeping did not clean our room when we were gone for four hours on Saturday. We had to call the front desk twice to get housekeeping up to our room. Secondly, they don't have wifi in the rooms. You have to go down to the lobby to get wifi. The last gripe is parking. There is no free parking ar ound the hotel. Not really a big issue but it does become annoying. Overall, it was not a bad experience. But I think we will be visiting the Market Street Hyatt on our next visit to The Woodlands.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and had a very nice time. The location is perfect, walking distance to many stores and restaurants. The rooms were a good size and comfortable. One complaint is that our room didn't have a safe box, which is unheard of these days. I only ate at one restaurant on site, the Italian one, toscana I think. It was just ok.
Another problem was the concierge. I called him to ask what restaurants would be open for dinner on a Saturday night. He suggested the bar down the street and ihop!!!! I did research on my own and found at least 5 restaurants available very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexiCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I loved the vibe at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott. Everything was pristine! The rooms totally modern... I've passed thru the Woodlands(the city) on the way to Houston or Galveston on the coast a bunch of times but never stopped. The location is perfect for a weekend getaway from Dallas and the hotels location is near all the action of their downtown, called "Town Center". That's a whole happening scene, but back to the hotel. My wife enjoyed the staff(Very helpful) and the restaurants ranged from romantic and upscale(Tuscany) to fun and happening(Aqua). We dined in both spots and both had their own vibe for sure. We had a room with, an uber comfortable king size bed, fab view and a late checkout! Free Wifi in the lobby. We had a great experience, including the best Sunday morning breakfast buffet at ever at Tuscany. I can still taste the fresh, super thinly sliced salmon, yumm! The staff gave us directions to various spots and 2 minutes away we discovered the downtown night life and high end shopping experience. I'd highly recommend the Woodlands for a weekend, "Mommy/Daddy Time" getaway and the Woodlands Waterway Marriott as the home base for that getaway, as well as a great place to host a conference!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokinbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I wisited the Woodlands Waterway during a business trip.
Reception tidy and personnel cordial and efficient
Rooms ok, but I confirm the recommendation of other travellers: low floor on the parking side can be noisy, as windows are not sound proff and during night time there were (each night, 4 sharp..) some heavy trucks (garbage collection?) causing significant noise and waking me up, despite the 9th floor, My sleep s not too light, so the issue is real.
So, ask for high floor rooms and on the waterway front, not mid-way like it happened to me...

A part from this element, certainly out of control of the Hotel Management, the rest of the hotel was confortable.
Another element that I consider a bit weird for an hotel of this level and price is the lack of a room safe, quite anoying when one needs to store passport, pc etc.
Also the breakfast not included in the fare is not ideal for business travellers.

I Did not have a chance to see the gym area, but this is somethign I'll for sure do the next time, as for sure I'll go back if around, despite the weaknesses above, as the hotel is still among the best in the area.

.

Room Tip: Gio for high floor and full waterway front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dado_63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for a couples retreat weekend in the hotel. The room was nice, lots of pillows and clean. Check in was quick but we didn't get the king bed we reserved on the top floor, but were put in one on the 6th over looking the parking garage. There was no shampoo in the bathroom and none was ever left during cleaning, I asked for some from the maids cart. We had a late dinner at the Tuscany restaurant in the hotel and were told they were out of soup and potatoes. The waiter told us he had been there alone all night and it was swamped. The food was good but pricey. We ordered breakfast to be delivered between 7-7:15 (guaranteed on time or free) but it didn't come. When we called about it they said they had a lot of orders for that same time (yes, it's a convention and we all had to arrive at the same time). At 7:40 It was ok but a little cold. That night the air went out in the room so we woke up sweating. When we checked out, they offered to pay for the valet and breakfast, but only took the breakfast off the bill. We left our swim suits in a bag in the closet and when I went back to get them, someone had taken my husbands suit. It wasn't worth the fight or getting someone fired over, but I didn't appreciate it being stolen.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river way. There are lots of restraunts within walking distance, eat aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMac1pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel. The location is excellent with lots of very nice bars and shops close by. Not too much else to say other than I did think it was expensive for what it was. I will try to find a better deal on my next visit to The Woodlands area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 19 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 19 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Property: The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1162
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing