We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicious!!!”
Review of Viva Itacate - CLOSED

Viva Itacate
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Chilaquiles definitely are delicious!!!The bakery is very tasty!! The empanadas are so good and tamales are definitely homemade!!!!

Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Mexican”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great food. Friendly people. You wouldn't know it from the little ship mall they are located it, but this is a gem of a restaurant. Everything on the menu is tasty. The coffee is great, thick and creamy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amielynn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional Mexican”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I absolutely love Viva Itacate. Some of the dishes may have familiar names - tacos, enchiladas - but they will not be what you expect. This is not Tex-Mex. The surprise is always good, though, with thoughtfully prepared, balanced dishes that leave you feeling refreshed afterward, not leaden or heavy.

I've fallen in love with bocoles, which are small, very thick corn tortillas that are halved like a bun and filled with meat and vegetables. Kind of like the bread rounds you find at the store, except they're awesome corn tortillas instead of mediocre sandwich bread. A bit messy, but totally worth it. Tortas (Mexican sandwiches) are also on the menu, and definitely worth a try. Get the lunch special, which includes a cup of soup.

This is a bakery cafe, so there are plenty of baked goods to choose from. I prefer the savory empanadas to the sweet ones, but the cheese danish, croissants, conches, etc, are all terrific. In fact, this is the only place where I've had a Mexican baked good that actually tasted good. Usually, it just tastes like dry bread with a little sugar sprinkled on it; not at Viva Itacate.

They've also got a selection of coffee drinks, but I haven't tried them.

Counter service, reasonable prices, clean and comfortable dining room round things out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy pastries and excellent pozole!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

An unassuming little restaurant in the corner of a strip center turned out to be quite a pleasant surprise! Some of the best pan dulce I have ever had - empanadas, cronuts (croissant donuts), chocolate and almond filled croissants and much, much more!

Our lunch consisted of a torta with cochinita pibil and a cup of pozole. Both were absolutely delicious! The owner also gave us a little sample of their tres leches cake with caramel filling. It was so good we ordered a whole cake for an upcoming event. I can't wait to go back and try more of the menu. It's so refreshing to find a restaurant that offers authentic Mexican dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jealvear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will go out of our way to go back!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Great food and wonderful people. Yummy introduction to tamales and migas for our Canadian friend! We will go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Itacate also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing