We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious, but authentic and delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bombay Sizzler

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Sizzler
Ranked #161 of 210 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, but authentic and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

202 Sawdust Rd, #115, Spring, TX not The Woodlands. Lunch buffet is from 11-3;, dinner at 5:00. Came at 4:25 so had to kill time in the strip mall, a no no.. We had papadum, a crisp chickpea based cracker that my gluten-intolerant girlfriend could have and loved, while I had the naan-(regular Indian bread, they also had the garlic naan)- both were excellent. The lentil soup (dal) was thin to my taste and not that great. Another appetizer was great, as well, a potato-based aloo khorma, I think. The main dish we split was a mixed grill sampler with some chicken, sausage, lamb, and who knows what that was terrific, with some rice. I also asked for a chicken curry gravy to go over the rice and it smelled and tasted great. Dessert was rice pudding and a carrot pudding. We want to go back for the buffet; definitely not dress up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yguy94086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but tasty...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Bombay Sizzler does a nice job of preparing traditional Indian dishes... tasty, as spicy as you want, and at reasonable prices. The atmosphere isn't much.... seems they always have Indian movies playing on their television, which for non-Indians can be a bit distracting. But I've ordered takeout there on several occasions and have enjoyed each thoroughly.

I didn't find the samosas too interesting....very little taste, but I recommend the chicken vindalo (spicy) and the butter chicken curries, and of course the standby dish chicken tikka marsala.

Also, the staff/management were very friendly and accomodating. Worth the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Flavorful food. Good selection of dishes to choose from on lunch buffet. Excellent service and good value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I can not get enough of a good curry and finally found a place that can provide this. Very impressed with the menu and quality of the food. Highly recommend this place!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodlands21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
251 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in the Woodlands!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Compared in Indian restaurants in London or Delhi, this restaurant is mediocre, but it's definitely the best Indian restaurant in The Woodlands. The menu is the standard fare and the food is hot and fresh. The service is excellent and friendly. Prices are reasonable.

They have take out and large party trays. They have a lunch buffet.

The property is modest (in a shabby strip mall), but clean and well-decorated inside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FayeJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Sizzler also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Sizzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing