We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Phoenix

Red Phoenix
Ranked #67 of 210 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Willis TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went Sunday for the first time after one of my customers recommended it. I avoid the local chinese restaurants,have had nothing but really bad experiences--especially buffets! I was not aware they had a buffet, just checked the menu on line,but when we arrived noticed that most people were going that route. It was small, but everything fresh and well stocked throughout the entire time we were there. Food was very good! Service was excellent, beautiful decor,quiet and peaceful. Owner came by our table to greet us and our server was professional and attentive. Will absolutely return to order off the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txlady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tx
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the best restaurant. The owner, Kit, and the manager Mark are two of the nicest people you will ever meets the food is top quality and the staff is very attentive and professional. This is not your bargain cheap Chinese food but the prices are VERY reasonable. The buffet at lunch on Sunday is unbelievably delicious and the price is definitely right. Bottom line, the cleanest restaurant you will visit and your business is truly appreciated by this outstanding staff and owner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not sure what happened”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We only come here on Sundays for the delicious buffet. The past couple of times we visited the buffet items hadn't been super warm. Today was a disappointment, the items on the buffet were either covered in too much sauce or cold.

We left hungry and disappointed.

Sad to say that we won't be back anytime soon.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hit with the entire picky family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Took in-laws visiting from England, they and kids enjoyed. Went back again with picky husband in tow & again every dish really good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diningduo066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food fair, service good,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Based on reviews my wife and I decided to eat at Red Phoenix in the Woodlands for lunch on Tuesday. We had the lunch special - Sweet and Sour Chicken. The service was very good, chicken was all white meat and good. The spring roll was greasy and the iced tea was expensive ($2.50). The fried rice was OK, but didn't seem to have any egg or much chicken.

Overall average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Phoenix also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Red Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing