We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Yum!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Emilia Italian Restaurant

Via Emilia Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Emilia Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 204 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: The Woodlands Parkway
Description: Named after an ancient Roman road that spans from Rimini to Piacenza, Via Emilia is known for their house-made pastas, braised meats, seafood specialties, and delicious desserts. The family-owned restaurant served Houston diners for over 13 years before moving to their current location in the Woodlands. Enhance the experience with a bottle of wine from our extensive collection from around the world. Via Emilia's wine list includes over 200 selections spanning over 60 regions of the world, including 30 rotating wines by the glass. We look forward to creating a memorable experience that will exceed the expectations of you and your guests.
usa
Level Contributor
302 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had nice service and I was surprised at the extensive menu in a strip-mall restaurant. The food was much better than I expected and was in fact quite good. I had a pear & spinach salad and the eggplant lasagna. It was very tasty! The decor is nice -- we had a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    45
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was just average, but the atmosphere tries to portray an upper end restaurant. I ordered chicken Marsala and the chicken was thin and tasted like it was poor quality. The Marsala sauce was very salty and tasted like it was not freshly made and out of a can. The service was good.
Probably will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Marvellous Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent selection of Italian dishes, including fowl,fish and red meat. Courteous service with excellent knowledge of the menu's ingredients and method of preparation. Dining areas are well decorated but a bit large. Ambience could be a bit warmer. Prices are reasonable considering the excellent selection and final presentation. Fresh pasta made every morning. Good wine list and recommendations. Attractive and modern bar with a generous choice of fine liquors, liqueurs and cocktails. Via Emilia is located in a quiet area of the Woodlands with ample parking. Very popular with local residents. Chef has extensive experience in the preparation of italian cuisine especially from the Emilia-Romagna area of Italy (known for it superior cuisine), where her family originated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Turbidite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

After leaving 24 hr fitness I was famished and always wanted to stop in to see this restaurant located in a strip shopping area. On the outside with darkened windows, you expect a casual restaurant, but step in and you will find a beautiful relaxing formal atmosphere. I ordered the lunch menu pork tenderloins with asparagus and mashed potatoes and a side salad. I had their Chianti. The food was fresh, wonderfully cooked to perfection and well seasoned. The side garlic bread was a nice change from rolls. The portions were generous, so I had no room for dessert, but the selections are worth a trip for that and coffee alone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,328 reviews
705 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Our Neighborhood Best Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We eat here about every 3 tp 4 month between our travels and continue to enjoy the food and atmosphere. Operated by an Italian family you get good Italian food. Today we ate Sunday Brunch and I had the LS Pork Medallions (excellent) my spouse had the Braised Beed Short Ribs. Nicolas was excellent with his service. They have music on Wed to Sat evenings and plenty of parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Emilia Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Via Emilia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing