We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We took a few days off just to rest and relax, shop and eat. This place is very nice and clean. Very retro, (not particularly my style). The breakfast was good, the beds were comfy, and I had no real complaints. It was just what we needed. I thought it was a little overpriced, but everything in the area is, and you sort of know that going in so it's o.k. Nice little mini market by the reception and a little bar also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very worth your money. It is quite modern and the suites are very spacoius. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained. It has a good location close to everything in The Woodlands. This hotel is a great choice for families of 5 and there aren't that many out there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssharonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice hotel. Workout room is a bit small, but has a few treadmills and dumbbells. Nice pool and spa (outdoor).

Request a room away from the freeway side...it can get a bit noisy from all the cars.

David, the bartender is great. He will remember you and mixes up some good drinks.

I would not recommend for families with small kids...a little too small for the tikes

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank OCHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights when our usual accommodations (Homewood Suites) was not available. The decor is very contemporary and attractive. Although the suite is much smaller than what we are accustomed to, it was satisfactory. It was also very clean. The toilet and one lavatory is in one very small room and the walk-in shower and another lavatory is in another room. Both rooms have sliding doors with frosted glass. The problem is that the lights from these rooms shines directly into the sleeping area and if one person goes to bed earlier than another, it is impossible to block out the light. There is no shade on either door. Other than this, I agree with all the positives already expressed by the other reviewers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights last weekend. Friendly front desk. The property looks near new and the room was spotless. Our number one priority is CLEAN and our room did not disappoint! I like the layout of the suite. It was not a huge room but the layout was very effiecient. I really like the separate toilet and shower areas. The hotel seemed to be completely booked, full parking lot - etc., but was very quiet. The breakfast area was busy but worked fairly well considering the crowd. The only small issue was some traffic noise in the odd numbered rooms facing the I-45 speedway, but it was not too bad. Next stay I will request a room on the front side of the hotel. I travel to The Woodlands frequently and this is now MY hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at SpringHill Suites in the Woodlands last weekend. Clean, friendly service, good location for activities in the area. Most amazing thing, however, is that I left an iPad in the room and it wasn't taken. The front desk expressed it to me the next day. That never happens... I was very impressed.

Room Tip: Request room facing away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsraustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family of 4 travels quite often and always stays in the same room together. We prefer 'suite' types of rooms for the added space and convenience of refrigerators and microwaves for the kids snacks. Everything about this hotel and stay was, by far, better than all others of this same type and quality.

The lobby has a sort of mini-mart with sweet and salty snacks, a nice variety of drinks including alcohol, and a decent selection of microwavable pasta and noodle meals. There was even a small selection of ice cream and cookies for those late night treats for the kids.

The lobby is quiet and welcoming. We sat here a few times while waiting for my husband to finish up work issues, and it was lovely each time. Their use of the curtains gives a sense of privacy.

There is a sports bar in the lobby that is open from 4:30-10 and the prices were incredibly reasonable. A nice perk for sure.

The breakfast bar was always perfectly clean and well stocked with tons of selections. Waffles, pastries, breads, bagels, variety of cereals, variety of yogurts, oatmeal with a variety of toppings, juices, and a well stocked coffee bar. Would have liked for the breakfast to go until at least 9:30...it ends at 9:00.

The pool was a blast. There is a mini splash park that the kids can simply turn the knob to start on their own. The hot tub was incredibly large and the pool was a great size. Plenty of room for the kids to play and still have space for other adults to relax. The bar would even fix you a 'grown-up' drink in a plastic cup so you could go out to the pool area and relax while the kids played. Kids happily playing in the pool and splash zone - free...Parents getting to relax at the same time - Priceless! The pool area is right next to the interstate, but after 5 or so minutes, we didn't notice the wooshing of the cars so much.

We had a suite on the 4th (and top) floor away from the interstate and couldn't hear anything. Incredibly peaceful and saw some beautiful sunsets from our vantage point.

There is a large step in closet with a large shelf along the top. We simply asked for more hangers and our family of 4 had plenty of storage space for all our things in the drawers and closet.

If there is something to complain about, it would be the bathroom. The hotel needs to install towel racks in the bathroom. There was only a small round hook which didn't allow for our family of 4 to hang our towels to dry each day. Can't do eco-friendly very well with wet towels in a humid environment without a place to dry them. We simply asked for dry towels each day and the staff was quick to respond and happy to do so. Also, the lighting in the bathroom is pretty low. I simply stepped out of the bathroom and used the natural light from the window to get dressed each day, which worked well anyway so someone else could use the shower. One last item...it would be nice to have some sort of ability to lock the sliding doors that close off the shower area and the toilet area. With 2 boys and a husband also in the room, a little more ability for privacy would have been a nice detail.

There is a Walmart in the same shopping area and several restaurants. Hint to getting to the hotel...take Hwy. 242 heading west from I-45 and immediately turn north into the Walmart parking lot. Keep going north, driving through the various parking lots, as far as you can and you will end up at the hotel.

We were always greeted with a smile and a warm welcome. Lovely week and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Woodlands
Best Western Plus The Woodlands
#16 of 18 in The Woodlands
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands
Candlewood Suites Houston, The W...
#14 of 18 in The Woodlands
89 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Houston The Woodlands/Market Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands

Address: 16520 Interstate 45 S, The Woodlands, TX 77384-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#1 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range: $117 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands! Located minutes away to great concerts and summer family fun and festivals at The Woodlands Waterway Square! Our spacious suites provide separate living and sleeping areas, with microwaves, mini-fridges, pull out sofas in each guest suite. Complimentary HOT breakfast buffet every morning, with free high speed internet access, state-of-the-art fitness area and business centers. Enjoy the lively bar for great adult relaxation, and inspiring conversation areas. Mingle by the open-air fire pit before going out to dinner, or watching the games with friends on several flat screen TVs in the lobby. SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands is the perfect place for families and friends to relax after a long trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Houston The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing