We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low End Ikea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Low End Ikea”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What I Wish I would have known before booking the hotel... Really can't figure out why this hotel has good ratings other than it is clean and new. The bathroom sink is so small that even the tiny soap on the soap dish doesn't fit on the side of the sink. If you know someone staying here, you may want to think twice about shaking their hand. The bed is hard (even with the "egg crate" under the sheet). The wood trim is fiberboard looking with some sharp edges in the room (definitely not kid friendly--would not recommend bringing kids of any age here).

It's not romantic, or homey, or comfortable. It is new, clean, and has a small fridge and microwave. They have lollipops at the front desk. The door configuration is odd as the bathroom (very tiny) and shower are separate areas. This reminds me of an updated Motel 6 in terms of quality of furnishings and the quality of the bedding. No dresser and no closet--just an Ikea type armoire. If you don't like celery green, you won't like the colors here.

The biggest disappointment was choosing this hotel based on the Trip Adviser reviews--query whether some of these reviews were written by people affiliated with the hotel--be careful in choosing this hotel based on the good reviews. This is just a room with an uncomfortable bed. Nothing special. Eurodesign features are intended to give an upscale feel but if you prefer a homey comfortable room, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you have kids--lots of sharp edged euro style furniture. If you like a soft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hivelocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    77
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
120
55
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Don't misunderstand me; while I LOVED the hotel and have a couple of examples of outstanding staff service, I have to mention the unusual "door configuration" in my hotel room #251. I never really got used to the three doors aligned across the room from my very comfortable bed. In the middle of the room was the door to the toilet & sink, just to the left was the door to a spacious closet followed by the third and last door in the rear of the room which entered the shower/ bathtub. Equipped with a very nice sink, well lit mirror and fabulous shower, I kept expecting to see the toilet here and got badly disoriented one evening in the middle of the night! The bathroom, or more accurately the shower room (there I go again), was very roomy and came with torso jet-sprays in addition to the overhead shower. Quite nice.

The hotel is very new and the rooms have attractive, modern shades of "spring green" and "caribbean aqua" throughout. Very soothing. This is an ideal "work hotel" as it is equipped with one of the nicest desk-defined areas and ergonomic work chair that I've ever seen in a hotel. Definitely NOT an after-thought.

Now to the service. A huge convention was in town and there were simply ZERO downtown Houston hotels available or even rental-cars. I did not realize how FAR from downtown I was going to be with my SpringHill Woodlands hotel choice. Almost 90 minutes to the Reliant Center in tough morning traffic. Thankfully, the night staff advised me to make arrangements the evening before for transportation to my convention the following morning. While expensive, the prompt service and transportation coordination smoothed over what could have been an early morning stress test.

The value to roomrate ratio in my mind is excellent in my estimation. I can recommend this property with confidence!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrleonardfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I was doing business over in Porter, TX but found this SpringHill Suites in The Woodlands had good ratings, so decided to give it a try. Glad I did! This place is awesome. Brand spankin' new. Clean. Well designed. Quiet. And in an excellent location that is near just about every kind of restaurant you can think of. Right on the Interstate, so easy to find. What else can you ask for?

I especially liked the layout of the room. It has a separate water closet for the toilet that includes it's own sink. The standup shower and main sink are in a completely separate room. And the shower is awesome! It has two spa jets that you can turn on for a body wash. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water made taking a shower a real pleasure.

The staff is friendly and helpful. I left my cordless mouse at the hotel and didn't discover this until I arrived home. I called and asked if they had found it. Minutes later, they had already arranged to ship it to me. Excellent.

The room has a nice big desk and work area, which I liked because I was on business travel. Also has a big comfy couch with built-in ottoman.

Request a room on the top floor facing west, as this is the side that is quieter, and away from the Interstate.

The only downside is that they do not have The Wall Street Journal as most Courtyard Marriotts have. They only have the USA Today.

Grab one of the strawberry or mango suckers that they have at the reception area. They are really good!

Room Tip: Top floor on the west side of the building, as the Interstate is on the east side of the building an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Great rooms, good breakfasts, friendly employees, convenient location, reasonable rates. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnninBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2012

What a wonderful surprise. A very clean and new hotel in a safe north Houston suburb. Staff was friendly, rooms were very clean and fresh with every accommodation you can imagine. Firepit patio, awesome pool. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed there for my daughters rugby tournament. The staff was very nice and Calli was great. My husband enjoyed the bar and my daughter and I enjoyed sitting outside with the fire. The room was awsome! Loved the layout and the colors. The bathroom is seperate from the shower and has its own sink. The only downsides were if you were sleeping/sitting on the couch you could not see the tv if someone was watching it from the bed. The bed was super firm and enough that my husband had a hard time sleeping but then that is a personal preference. The extra blankets were very scratchy and breakfast while having quite a few choices wasn't the best tasting. But with all of that we would stay there again - hubby could just sleep on the couch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckenmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Recently opened, so it's new and shiny. For the most part, they got it right. Staff is courteous and well trained and I like the updated room layouts that open them up while still separating work and sleep space.

The office chair is as comfortable as any I've found in hotels at this price point. Glitches were minor, and related to work space. The network cable at the desk was too short - had to move the desk phone and put the laptop on the end of the desk to get it to reach the network port on the laptop. A couple feet longer cord would have made a huge difference. And the desk lamp looks great but is not adjustable, so of limited use as a task light. Overhead lights at the desk are enough so it's not major.

Nice shower, comfortable, firm beds, and easily regulated A/C - I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands
Candlewood Suites Houston, The W...
#14 of 18 in The Woodlands
85 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands

Property: SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
Address: 16520 Interstate 45 S, The Woodlands, TX 77384-4170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#1 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#1 Best Value Hotel in The Woodlands
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands! Located minutes away to great concerts and summer family fun and festivals at The Woodlands Waterway Square! Our spacious suites provide separate living and sleeping areas, with microwaves, mini-fridges, pull out sofas in each guest suite. Complimentary HOT breakfast buffet every morning, with free high speed internet access, state-of-the-art fitness area and business centers. Enjoy the lively bar for great adult relaxation, and inspiring conversation areas. Mingle by the open-air fire pit before going out to dinner, or watching the games with friends on several flat screen TVs in the lobby. SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands is the perfect place for families and friends to relax after a long trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Houston The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing