We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From Excellent to Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands

Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands
Reserve with OpenTable
Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 210 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $65
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interstate 45
Description: Continuing the legacy of Dallas' Original Steakhouse, Est. 1954, Kirby's Prime Steakhouse in The Woodlands, Est. 2004, is an award winning restaurant featuring Mid-Western, grain fed, aged prime beef. Kirby's also offers fresh seafood, daily features, and a spectacular collection of New and Old World wine housed in an impressive cellar of over 4,000 bottles. Kirby's boasts a trendy jazz bar and lounge featuring live music on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings. To compliment their excellent wine selection is classically trained Corporate Executive Chef Daniel Nemec. Chef Nemec seeks to introduce the culinary versatility of Kirby's cuisine to any and all diners. Guests can choose to dine lakeside or enjoy one of Kirby's imported cigars in the lounge while partaking in a glass of wine selected by certified Sommelier, Scott Griffin. Be sure to join us from 11am to 3pm for Friday lunches. Kirby’s offers the perfect atmosphere, and menu, for a business lunch or casual dining.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
744 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“From Excellent to Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We live up the street and Kirby's used to be my all time favorite. After our last visit of cigar smoke infused dining, a waiter that clearly didn't believe in service, a noise level that removed any hint of conversation and tables so closes that the wait staff had problems moving about, this once top pick just moved down to average. Yes, the steaks are excellent and the wine offerings are the best but there are numerous fine dining establishments in the Woodlands and Kirby’s may have lost out trying to satisfy everyone. Maybe an upgraded HVAC system and a refresher course in service for their wait staff would help? Go for the excellent food, don't sit in the middle and hope for a good waiter.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    46
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice dinner with extended family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dined here last week at the Woodlands restaurant. It was the place that my mother chose for her birthday dinner. We had a reservation for 8 people ranging in age from 14- 78. The service was excellent, and everyone enjoyed the food! Some of our favorites included the lobster bisque- with large lobster chunks!, the fish special topped with crab, and of course, well prepared steaks! We mentioned it was a special birthday, and a lovely chocolate cake a la mode appeared at the conclusion of our meal. Our tab including drinks was bout $50 per person. We'd return again- for an occasion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The woodlands,tx
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“classy steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've been going to Kirby's for years and I've never had a bad meal there. There service is second to none and when I go there they treat me like family. There steaks are top quality along with there seafood, and there side dishes are excellent. I have been to steakhouses all over the country and this is one of the last ones that you can get a huge booth, eat your meal while listening to 1st class bands play music and finish your night off with a nice cigar. Yes I know you can go to other steakhouses and hear a band play while you eat but for a serious cigar smoker such as myself this is one of the only places I know of left that you can have a smoke after eating your meal and you don't have to go outside or be shuffled into some special smoke room.Don't worry if you aren't a smoker or you prefer to not hear band playing they have the restaurant sectioned off to prevent sound and smoke from intruding on your meal. I recommend this steakhouse to everyone that asks me where A good steakhouse is. If you are looking for a bargain meal for 30.00 this isn't your place, but if you are OK with dropping a little coin for great meal and experience give it a try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisandlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kirby's is top Tier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Kirby's offers a complete menu line of steaks, prime rib, lamb, veal chop, and seafood. Service and food quality are excellent. Appetizers and specials round out the choices. Very good wine list. Pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris6367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klein, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kirby's Woodlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We enjoyed Kirby's for several reasons. The food was excellent- we all had different cuts of steak and all were cooked as we had requested, and good. The bar was fun, with TVs showing sports and friendly, relaxed crowd and bartender. There was music the night we went, which is the reason my brother chose the place. So we had everything we wanted. It's not cheap, but the quality is worth the price paid. Will definitely go again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beckyloutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands also viewed

 

Been to Kirby's Prime Steakhouse - The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing