We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this place”

Hubbell & Hudson Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Hubbell & Hudson Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 214 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Robbins
Description: The concept behind our progressive new American bistro is simple. Combine the world-class talent of our Executive Chef Austin Simmons' procure only the best, top-quality ingredients at the peak of freshness and flavor, an inspiration influenced by both classical and modernist techniques from Europe and Asia - The result is an innovative menu that can change as quickly as new deliveries of in-season inspiration arrive. Acclaimed as one of Houston's Top 100 Restaurants, Bistro is open daily for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Everything you order is awesome. I was so sad when they closed the grocery store attached, but we still come to the restaurant . The service is good and the food is fabulous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    111
    50
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I rate Hubbel and Hudson very good only in comparison to the many eateries that are average. Their prices are not justified by the food they offer. My wife and I were guests of my brother and his wife for dinner. He and I chose the same 8- once steak @ $45 each. His sides were onion rings and fries. I had only onion rings. The ladies ordered halibut and sea bass, respectively. We each had a $12 glass of wine. As couples, we shared two desserts -- fried apple pie and lemon cake. Two of us had coffee with our dessert. The over-priced desserts were disappointing. Fries and onion rings were very good but not great. The ladies said that their seafood was quite good. Now for the steaks. My brother commented favorably on his. But I had a negative response to mine. I ordered it medium and it came out medium-well. Mine was tough and not especially flavorful. Service was good. The cost totaled $300 plus 20% tip. If the food had been top quality on every dish, the price would be justified for a class restaurant. This was not the case. Other fine restaurants in metropolitan Houston are superior to H & H.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
903 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant while in woodlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have eaten here a couple of times, menu changes frequently so you have variety which is really good not to have always the same, prices are according to woodlands style of life, fresh prepared food and ambience is very upscale very trendy we loved it and recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We eat here a couple of times a year. Very comfortable, trendy place. The food is always fantastic. The menu changes every few months and we always come in to experience the new dishes. The entrees are large portions and always cooked and to perfection. If the chef is working, he will make off menu dishes. You just have to tell the waiter what you want and they will ask the chef. My last time in I asked for Lobster Risotto as a side dish and to my expectation, it was cooked perfectly. They seem to specialize more and more in seafood but they also have good steaks. I've never had a bad meal here, and the service is excellent.

Being a wine collector I rarely order wine in restaurants because it's usually way over priced. I was pleasantly surprised to find several reasonably priced bottles (under $70). They don't have a huge wine selection but they do have some pretty good juice.

If you are driving, park in the attached parking garage. They will validate your ticket. Parking is really a breeze but people not familiar with The Woodlands may not be aware of the attached garage. After dinner take a walk down the waterway and work off the calories from their great desserts. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. It's always consistently VERY good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A friend and I recently chose this restaurant for our " girls day out lunch". We had both eaten at the Hubbell & Hudson on Research Forest and had both good food and service. The service is what I wish to review for the Hubbell & Hudson on The Waterway.
The hostess seemed bothered to find us a table for two and we assumed they were just having a really busy lunch crowd. This was not the case. The room was less than half filled with a mix of business meeting types and simply socializing patrons. Our waitress was no friendlier than the hostess. We had to ask for drink refills. The food was ok. We suspected "two ladies out for lunch" was not worth their time for tips compared to the guys and gals on expense accounts that could have taken our place. Too bad, I usually tip at least 20% for good service!
I do not plan to return to this Hubbell &Hudson location. Nothing special about their food or atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hudi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hubbell & Hudson Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Hubbell & Hudson Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing