We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run by morons” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tribute at the Colony

The Tribute at the Colony
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in The Colony
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A famous Scottish golf course designed by Tripp Davis.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Run by morons”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The worst staff makes it very difficult to even consider this as a place I want to frequent. Ask someone a question and they send you to another person... Never ending.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexanRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
290 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Play here on a windy, winter day for a "true" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ever wanted to look for a lost ball in grass two feet tall? Felt the need to hit out of a bunker you took steps to get into? Tired of playing on courses that are too green for their own good? then you have to stop by The Tribute. I've played here twice, and both times it was under 40, and the wind was 15-20. It affects the game, but makes you feel like you are really playing these famous holes from across the pond. Lots of false fronts on greens, so be smart on your puts our you wil be chipping back on. My favorite was #17 "St. Andrews." Only one road into the course that sits right on the lake. I advise watching for cops in the subdivision before you get to the end of the road. Once here, take it all in, as it is worth doing at least once.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wikwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Prep for Scottish Golf Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have been playing this course for years. They are very particular about the maintenance of the course. They kept carts off the fairways for about 6 months last year. The greens roll very true. I agree with some of the reviews criticizing some of the service. A couple of the people have a very dry sense of humor. I have always taken it as more prep for the Scots we will encounter at St Andrews this summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice Course, Low On Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

It is a unique course that has a good sampling of many famous UK courses.

The greens were a little chewed up from people not repairing ball marks, but that is a common with nicer public courses let alone American Golf properties.

Do not bank on much scenery like homes and whatnot. Thickets on each side of the hole, the lake, and the clubhouse. Thats it.

Impressive clubhouse and friendly staff. Though the holes appear simple it can be a challenge at times. Worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTangoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a golf experience! Firstly, I did my Jean Van de Velt on the first hole (in fact the 18th at St Andrews). A very challenging and fun golf course. The wind coming from the lake can make it even more difficult. Greens and fairways are fantastic. The staff is out standing. Last but not the least, I had my best hamburger ever. With stilton cheese and a great pint of beer. Clae your eyes and you're in Scotland. I shall be back in two months.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tribute at the Colony also viewed

 

Been to The Tribute at the Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing