We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
61
52
39
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
52
39
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best westerns breakfast area room was clean cruise stay the toilet seat cruise terminal air freshener musty odor staff was friendly checking in great place to stay hotel is located would definitely stay here again eggs and sausage let them know cleaning staff called the front desk
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 206 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018

This was the worst hotel, the shower smelled, the carpet smrllsmin my room & in the hallway. The draws had stains didn't unpack. I hated being there. The account in the room was dmelly
I purchased Lysol and wiped.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sabrinanel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, General Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
-Devyn S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We had to clean the shower before using it because it was full of hair, tub was very slippery had to ask for a mat. There were blood stains on the sheet we had to ask that someone come to change them which took forever. There was rusted peeling paint on the wall next to the shower. The staff was very friendly but the hotel room was the worst I've ever seen.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank tiffinif70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, General Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear tiffinif70,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 409-986-6600.


Sincerely,

Devyn Sims
General Manger
Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Just came here last night for my friends birthday dinner! Very popular place! Staff was working very hard and was great! Food was awesome. I definitely recommend the steamed clams. Soo sooo good!!! Quesadillas were amazing! Drinks were delicious and bar scene was cool and fun! Very nice inside and outside atmosphere and clean and new inside. It’s inside the hotel but is a great place to come and eat even if you’re not staying at the hotel on the site. They don’t take reservations so come early!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

We were initially pleased with this location. Just off the freeway, next to a large mall--however the mall is EMPTY and regular eating establishments are 5-7 miles down the freeway. We were willing to overlook damage to the porcelain on the bathroom fixtures in both rooms that we stayed in as well as the below average breakfast items, but when the fire alarm sounded at 6:30 a.m. on a Sunday morning, we reached the end of our patience. The hotel had smoke throughout. Turns out the staff cleaned the dryer screens with each use, but the dryer vent was apparently loaded up and needed to be cleaned. I will stay in another location next time.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clamper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
-Devyn S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

I read reviews about the hotel before staying, smell is to be expected when you are that close to ocean, a little air freshener took care of it.
We had a great experience, would definitely stay here again. Front desk and all other hotel staff we came in contact with were wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tamigardenhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! I'm so glad that you loved our breakfast and the staff made you feel at home! We hope that you will come see us again when you are in the Galveston/Texas City.
Kind Regards,
Devyn S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews