We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
61
52
39
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
52
39
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best westerns breakfast area room was clean cruise stay the toilet seat cruise terminal air freshener musty odor staff was friendly checking in great place to stay hotel is located would definitely stay here again eggs and sausage let them know cleaning staff called the front desk
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 206 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018

We were initially pleased with this location. Just off the freeway, next to a large mall--however the mall is EMPTY and regular eating establishments are 5-7 miles down the freeway. We were willing to overlook damage to the porcelain on the bathroom fixtures in both rooms that we stayed in as well as the below average breakfast items, but when the fire alarm sounded at 6:30 a.m. on a Sunday morning, we reached the end of our patience. The hotel had smoke throughout. Turns out the staff cleaned the dryer screens with each use, but the dryer vent was apparently loaded up and needed to be cleaned. I will stay in another location next time.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clamper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
-Devyn S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

I read reviews about the hotel before staying, smell is to be expected when you are that close to ocean, a little air freshener took care of it.
We had a great experience, would definitely stay here again. Front desk and all other hotel staff we came in contact with were wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tamigardenhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! I'm so glad that you loved our breakfast and the staff made you feel at home! We hope that you will come see us again when you are in the Galveston/Texas City.
Kind Regards,
Devyn S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

This was our first trip to Texas, we were visiting family we hadn't seen in 8 years. Most of the staff was very friendly and gave us directions to places to see in the area. The hotel was nice but could use some maintenance.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lisawM3257JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, General Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you taking the time out of your day to write a survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve and the imperfections you found during your stay so that we have the chance to correct them. We are so very sorry were were not up to higher standards.We wish you safe travels.Kind Regards, Devyn Sims

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

The check in and out was standard. The room smelled musty and everything in it was dusty and most of it was broken. Not worth the $205 I paid to stay. I would not have chosen this hotel, but it was the one selected for the wedding I was attending.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sydneydanielle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, General Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize about the negative experience you had during your stay. We do pride ourselves in having exceptional customer service and if you feel you did not receive that then we did not fulfill our duty. We hope that one day you will give us a second chance when you are in the Texas City area.

Kind Regards,
Devyn Sims

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

I've been pleased with this hotel before but this stay just wasn't as great as other times. With as much as the cost is to stay in this hotel things should be great. Some food during the breakfast time ran out, when you see food is getting low start making backup so you can replenish and guests don't have to wait. Wi-fi wasn't connecting for me, was disappointed. Used the shower and I could see baseball marks on both ends where the shower curtain spring used to be, was filled with silicone and that was it. Bed wasn't very comfy. Decor is a little outdated, if that matters. I would stay here again but will check other Best Westerns first.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jrdnjstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western M, General Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you taking the time out of your day to write a survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve and the imperfections you found during your stay so that we have the chance to correct them. We are so very sorry were were not up to higher standards.We wish you safe travels.Kind Regards, Devyn Sims

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews