We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a good place to stay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10620 Emmitt Lowery Expressway, Texas City, TX 77592   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not a good place to stay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Staff was nice but the rooms rooms were not. Our first room smelled and the bed had no comforter. The pillows were small and hard and so was the mattress. It felt like I was sleeping with a rock under the mattress. The breakfast was not good at all, It looked as if someone forgot to clean the areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimClaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    25
    23
    10
See reviews for
67
41
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was pleased with the facilities. Our room was clean quiet and the property overall was well maintained. The bedding was comfortable, not as posh as say a Sheraton, but hey, you're not paying Sheraton prices.

We stayed 3 nights. In the morning and in the evening we were greeted by the front desk staff. A very good value.

The only negative is they didn't keep coffee available once it ran dry from the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gt2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Room isn't clean, something really gross on the wall. There is a Soap bottle still in the shower, and a bottle by the sink that is half used. Staff is aggravating to deal with. Wouldn't ever choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tscaps2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Texas City hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Front desk greeting very nice when we walked in. Our room was ready and waiting good. But it smelled like stale smoke. not good. Breakfast was a little different usually when you have Gravy and Biscuits you also have eggs and sausage not this time! I asked the lady and she gave me a strange look like uhhh? it was ok. The best thing about this place is that it is 2 minutes from the Dog Track and 10 minutes from Tiki Island.very nice clean pool and fenced in area.

Room Tip: there is a Jack in the Box within walking distance. Gringo mexican restuarant near by they close a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sylvykkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thextravelprincess
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise as it was 100.00 less than staying directly in Galveston. The hotel rooms are BASIC and ok for a one night stay. Don't expect anything fancy. It was clean and had good A/C. The breakfast was great. Served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thextravelprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is definitely a great option if you want to visit galveston for half the price. We stayed here for two nights to visit Galveston with my two girls. We got a great rate compared to staying on the island and it only took 15 minutes to get to there. The location is great to visit Galveston or Kemah and it is easy to get to. The front desk was very polite and helpful. The room and the pool were clean.

The only negative, the mosquitos were horrible, but there isn't anything the hotel can do about that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Yes the hotel was clean but management was needed. Put into a handicap room for no reason. Beds were hard. Needed to change another room we held and told it was okay and then back out. Lying is not attractive! No one was courteous. I live in Texas and it was not welcoming like it should. won't stay again and we go to Galveston throughout the year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#6 of 12 in Texas City
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Texas City
Fairfield Inn Texas City
#3 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Value Place Houston (Texas City)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
Address: 10620 Emmitt Lowery Expressway, Texas City, TX 77592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites!A romantic stroll on Kemah Boardwalk is just what you need to get a trip started right, and it’s easy from our Texas City hotel.If you’re here for Space Center Houston, you’re in luck because it’s minutes away from our Texas City hotel. From Moody Gardens to the world famous barbeque nearby, there’s something for everyone when they stay with us. Schlitterbahn is in the neighborhood, and southern hospitality flows freely. Our friendly staff members are committed to making sure your trip is comfortable and memorable.Easy I-45 access makes commuting from our Best Western Texas City hotel simple. We’re close to Tanger® Outlet Mall, and many people come to town just to get great deals on fashion. However, an outdoor pool is also a siren’s call few guests can resist. Relaxing poolside, working in a few laps or simply getting bronzed are also great ways to kick-start your vacation.Enjoy a free breakfast and free Wi-Fi at our Texas City hotel. Start the morning with endless sizzling hot waffles, your favorite breakfast pastries, fruits and cereal or yogurt. The most important meal of the day is on us, and it ends with bottomless 100% Arabica coffee and juices.The Motorcycle Biker Rally is a favorite local event, and we’re happy to host bikers at our Texas City hotel. Close to Galveston Beach, beach bumming is an activity you can partake in year-round. Whether you want to take a surf lesson or just swim in the warm turquoise waters, it’s all possible and close to our property. Coast Guard service men and women as well as employees of Mainland Medical Center prefer our property for the location, value and service.Reserve your next stay at BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites today and enjoy a fantastic rate! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Texas City Best Western
Best Western Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing