We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Smoking is still allowed here. Ugh”

Gringo's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 90 Restaurants in Texas City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Beaumont, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Smoking is still allowed here. Ugh”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food and drinks were great, the restaurant allows smoking and that really took away from the meal ( for me anyway), YMMV

Friendly staff, great atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank drakethib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    54
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

very good food, ..especially the specials...but they really need to upgrade their gluten free menu to make a better selection for those who have gluten issues... also need to upgrade the chips they serve for those with gluten issues..otherwise a great restaurant!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen030312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“So good I ate there 8 times in one month.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was in town for work staying at the nearby Fairfield Inn. I tried this place the second night I was in town and it quickly became my default dinner choice. I did all seating options. I ate at the bar a few time, did take-out a few times and got a table with colleagues a few times. Service was great at all places. The margaritas were excellent. I usually judge TexMex places by two things, the chips and salsa and fajitas. Gringos excelled at both. The chips were fresh and light. The two salsas were tasty. Fajitas were sizzling and all ingredients fresh and seasoned well. Can't wait to back on my next trip!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RagsKP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Pollo Marisco was delicious but...”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The pollo Marisco was two grilled chicken breasts, perfectly grilled and still moist, covered with a sauce that included shrimp and crawfish tails. It was delicious! Served with very nice rice, black beans that I bet we're not out of a can but cooked fresh, a small onion and cucumber salad and fresh tortillas. All together way more than I could finish and about $12.

Great service and a nice margarita too.

Why not five stars? The restaurants in Texas have the option of allowing smoking in them and whenever I am greeted with "smoking or non-smoking" my review will never be five stars. Sometimes you have to take a stand and I was seated just outside the bar area, still in the stale smoke zone. I will not return to this store just because of this reason but if smoking does not bother you, the food is superb!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Always love going here. Have to visit it at least once a month. The food is always hot & fresh. Staff is very friendly & the price is not too overly priced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMSLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
Texas City, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gringo's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing