We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Texas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Texas City to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Texas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Hwy 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Sawyer, OK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and rooms are gorgeous and spacious; however, there is not a lot around by way of restaurants. Just stayed in the one in League City last month and liked it better due to the location! But for one night with two children it was great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    6
    2
    10
See reviews for
18
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My cousins & I stayed here for a mini family reunion. The front desk was very friendly & helpful with directions & restaurants. The rooms were clean, spacious & kitchen was set up for use. The rooms even included a small dining table & a recliner. Wifi was good. For the price, we felt we received more than what we paid for. For smokers, they still offer smoking rooms. Would def stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Texas City, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear kftw,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on our room accommodations and hotel service. I have taken note of your comments and we appreciate them as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We're staying here for a few weeks but I wanted to go ahead and write a review. I may do another one at the end of our stay.
First. The workers at the front desk are EXTREMELY nice and helpful. They seem genuinely concerned with making our stay as comfortable as possible. The first man was sure to inform us about what the hotel offers (more on this).
Second. The room was spectacular! Spotless, seemingly new furnishings. Our room has a kitchen comparable with a small apartment. Granite counters, full-sized fridge, microwave, two-burner ceramic range, dishwasher (what?), DISHES (no-way!) you won't find those little plastic cups wrapped in plastic like most hotels. We also had pots and pans, silverware, everything but food. Clean cabinets, large table/bar, comfy chairs. Two flat-screen tvs (one in the bedroom, one in the living room). DVD player, they'll let you borrow dvds and cds for free as well. (I haven't checked the selection)
Free WI FI. Seems relatively fast and reliable. I hooked up my ethernet cable and GEEZ! fast.
Haven't used the fitness area but it looked like they have a lot of machines. Don't expect vending machines, rather a small convenient store off the lobby. hot pockets, ice cream etc, plus the normal snack items for decent prices.
There's a gas grill outside free for guest use, they'll even give you utensils to use.
Nice towels and linens, whoever chooses these obviously has an eye for quality. Not the scratchy, over-bleached stuff you find at other places.

-The only thing I don't like so far is a non-refundable and pricey pet fee. I think it should be more of a deposit. If your dog doesn't mess anything up, it was like they were never there. Why charge such an outrageous fee?
I'll try to do another review at the end of our stay. I just wanted to go ahead and give Candlewood credit. The pet fee is the only reason I couldn't give an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Very satisfied with our 3rd floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 582davek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is in a nice spot. Far from the city, but close enough to Kemah and Galveston. It is about 8-12 miles from both. Remember this hotel does NOT serve breakfast, but has a nice stove top and microwave in the room you can use to cook your own food. There is a Kroger right up the road if needed. I did not like the fact that when I checked in, they needed a $50 dollar "incidental" charge. But, they gave it right back at the end of the stay. Overall, good for the price and two nights. The people at the desk were REALLY nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheYuckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great value compared to nearby properties. The property is somewhat hard to find if you are not familiar with the area. We called the front desk from nearby, and Carolyn directed us straight to the hotel! Thanks! Do not rely on GPS (we had GPS and two IPhones with maps and google maps). The hotel is located on the north-bound feeder street (Hwy 146), just north of 1764(Palmer Rd.). We had a really nice, 2 nite stay with our mini Schnauzer. Very nice Queen studio suite on the 3d floor with very comfortable bed. We didn't use the cupboard much but we were very thankful for the fresh, complimentary coffee that they kept brewed in the cupboard all day long (even very early in the morning)! We were thankful for the kitchen with all the utensils for cooking, the fridge, microwave, stovetop and everything we needed. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Lots of great eating places and shoppping nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 650savag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
528 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Maybe the perfect room? Everything looks new, kitchenette w/granite, full-size refrigerator, big microwave. Nice recliner, big flat screen TV with lots of TV stations. Bath is granite with nice shower head, curved shower rod, plush towels. Had a helpful conversation with Manager when making reservations, he called me back to say one night I wanted was now available. Easy check in, got the room I wanted. Everything very nicely kept up. Well lighted parking lot.

Texas City is less than 15 miles from Galveston. Texas City has a nice series of parks on the Gulf at the Dike. I biked there most days, good place to watch the ships coming into and out of the port.

The only problem, WIFI is bad, one of those types that gets slow when there is lots of usage. Does it make sense for a hotel to have this type of service in a hotel, to now provide enough band width for having full occupancy with most people online? In an extended-stay type of hotel that wants to get businesspeople? I was advised to connect to wired, which I did. I have my own router so I set up my own network. Even that one has issues, including it just going down at times. Owner seems to think he has fixed the problem, but he needs a better Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First night stay was the most uncomfortable I've experienced in a hotel stay. Although our room was supposed to be non-smoking, the smell proved otherwise. Blame this to the room being on the 1st floor next next to the outside smoking area. Unfortunately, the hotel was booked solid and no other rooms were available. Fortunately, Ik was very accommodating and relocated us the next day to a 3rd floor room.

Overall, the rest of the staff was not the most organized or accommodating. They lacked an adequate supply of linens and the night shift had to wait on the morning shift to accomplish simple requests. Apart from this, the hotel was reasonably priced, had clean rooms, and was conveniently located minutes away from the city center.

Room Tip: Request a room in the upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Texas City, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear tuffnail,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Texas City
Fairfield Inn Texas City
#3 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
5.3 mi away
Value Place Houston (Texas City)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Texas City

Property: Candlewood Suites Texas City
Address: 1700 Hwy 146 North, Texas City, TX 77590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Texas City 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Texas City Hotel Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing