We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Texas City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We reserved a non smoking 2bed extra night cause we arrived a day early. They charged us $50 three different times for a deposit. I complained, they fixed it. We we're gonna stay till Sunday but left Saturday at 5:30am we were ready to go home. 6 hours later we get a call that they are charging me for smoking in there plus burning a comforter and ashes everywhere ...We don't smoke! They charged us before calling us. We had candy gum cigarettes plus scratch off tickets, Who can't read candy boxes. Supposedly it smelled like cigarettes. We don't smoke.!! Im angry plus they took over $200 from our account!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marisolrincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Texas City, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
marisolrincon,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
23
17
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Candlewood in Texas City was very reasonable for long-term stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were really nice, with granite counters in the FULL kitchen, minus an oven. It had everything else: garbage disposal, full-size refrigerator, microwave, small selection of dishes, pots and pans, etc. Of course they provide you with t.p., kleenex, shampoo, and dish soap. They even have FREE laundry. They have a bbq outside, gym, dvd player and a few movies to check out. I'm going to stay there whenever traveling. It's the best!

Room Tip: We just stayed in the studio. It was big enough because my main focus was on a kitchen. The bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanci n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed there so we could be close to Galveston to embark on the cruise. We were greatly impressed . the young lady on the desk when we arrived was very helpful and extremely friendly. The accommodation was great. Would have been very comfortable for a long period of time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileens105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

i was booked here for a month. while the room it self was ok i had several issues. my first few days hot water was luke warm at best until i reported it to front desk. my door to my room did not close properly and had to have that looked at. dude at check in barely spoke english so there was a huge communication gap. after a few days i found roaches in my room. front desk said it was because they just had exterminator out. most of the staff was ok but the one dude at front desk made me feel uncomfortable and language breakdown was a big problem. i travel a lot and of all the candlewood suites i have stayed at this one is the worst. no pool, no hot tub, no real ammenities i have become accustom to staying at candlewood. no breakfeast or happy hour. i would just rather stay at a holiday in express and get better service. the only reason i choose places like this are for the kitchen/ apartment type enviroment but also for the public relations i have experienced from other candlewood places . if you just need a place to sleep, no sweat but if you travel a lot and expect that hospitality that you normally get this is not the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwepperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Texas City hotels

Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

PROS:
Less than 15 mins away from Galveston
"Very Clean" and Spacious Suites
Close to many eateries and local shopping malls
Quick Check In
Very Comfortable Bed
Large Bathroom
Large Refrig, Stove Top, Dishwasher, Utencils, and cooking pots
Pet Friendly
No fee for parking
The King suite rate was less than $99.00 a night

CONS:
The pet deposit is $75.00 and it is non-refundable
No pool at this location
No breakfast offered
Only three pillows on the King Bed
The TV was flat screen, but rather small
The curtains in the suite does not close completely, the unwanted sun wake you

I would recommended this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddandkanedrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

A large group of us booked 6 rooms for a trip to the Galveston area. We wanted something less expensive, and close to highway access. We were quoted a price and given a deadline to secure the reservations. I beleive everyone was accomodated as expected, minus one person. They tried to use their AAA discount card, but the lady at the front desk never could explain where the discount was applied. Given the fact the guest was charged the same rate as everyone else. Outside of that major issue, everything else seemed to run smoothly. The hotel seem to be fairly new. So, things like bedding, decor, and all common areas seem pretty clean! I slept very well in my queen size bed, and we made use of the full size refrigerator! The toiletries are pretty sparse, so pack your own! But that's to be expected. All in all we weren't disappointed. A few people in our group even made use of the fitness facility! If your looking for a cheap place to stay outside of the Galveston madness, this place fits the bill. The customer service isn't much to write home about, but it's clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIKTRIPPERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel while visiting some family in Galveston, TX. The location was perfect, exactly halfway between Galveston and Keemah Boardwalk. The hotel was clean and well-kept, and the staff were very inviting, even though I arrived in the middle of the night. The room rates were half of what I was finding anywhere in Galveston Island and the hotel was twice a good in quality. I had a great experience here and I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconut06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Texas City hotels
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texas City
5.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
#6 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Texas City

Property: Candlewood Suites Texas City
Address: 1700 Highway 146 N, Texas City, TX 77590-6599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Texas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Texas City Hotel Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing