We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's a place to sleep.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Economy Lodge

Economy Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Economy Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's a place to sleep.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The place is old. Carpet very worn. Sheets were clean. Coffee pot worked. Free HBO. Noisey at 2:00am. Not worth more than the $50 I paid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilredhenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
5
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were very pleased with the cleanliness and service at this hotel. Additionally, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Soft, pillowtop bed and big, fluffy pillows provided a great night's sleep. The towels and washcloths were fluffy, soft and unstained. There was no noise from other guests and no one bothered us. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was immaculate and well stocked with muffins, breads for toast, bagels, juices, milk, and coffee. There was a flat panel TV in the breakfast room, as well as our room. The hotel is in more of an industrial part of town, but we did not see any unsavory characters at all. For the price and the amenities provided, it's a great deal. The best part was they do provide a room service at night if requested.We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank yomare p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I wanted to stay in Galveston but all of the hotels had a room rate above $130 what I did't like at all, that's why I decided to stay in Texas City. The hotel is pretty nice. I expected it to be worse and was surprised. You can see that it's been renovated recently . The AC worked good, the bed was comfy, free breakfast that included breads and cereal, a microwave and a refrigerator in rooms, which I didn't use at all. The only two issues that I experienced were 1) they don't have a printer available for guests. I had to print an itinerary to get back home and couldn't do that and 2) a woman who worked at the reception during my second day of stay didn't understand any word in English, except "thank you". Otherwise I'm glad that I'd chosen this place to stay. I need a place to sleep only and it satisfied y need.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaMoscow2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake charles, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

i was thr on the mardi gras they have just renovated this place plus they included more amenities on thr room like DVD player, CD player iron and stuff like those not a bad motel for price they asked for‎

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vipforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

When we first walked in the hotel manager was delightful. The room was of decent quality. I could see that they had been working on renovating the motel.From my understanding the new management had painted the motel,fixed the roof,and landscaped.The motel is in better condition than it was before.The employees are sincere and did their very best to satisfy our needs.To sum it up the motel was great as well as secure.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NYletap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

This hotel was awful. We accepted it. The owner and his manager refused to refund the second night which had been prepaid. Teh room was filthy (the sheets and bed looked OK.) The towels were nasty. It appeared most of the residents there lived there by the week as opposed to transient lodging.

I called the fire department over fire code violations.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bwana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAFAGROUP, Marketing Manager at Economy Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2008
We aplogize for the incovinience that you had to go through in your stay in Economy Lodge. The hotel is under new management now and has been remodeled to provide better service to our current and future guest. We would like for you to be able to come back and see our property for you to see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#7 of 12 in Texas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
7.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Lodge

Property: Economy Lodge
Address: 1902 Texas Ave, Texas City, TX 77590-8427
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing