We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean hotel, large room only one downfall...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Conroe, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, large room only one downfall...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked room on Orbitz. Upon check-in was asked for credit card. I was told there would b a $100 hold for incidents placed on the card. Orbitz did not inform of this charge. This was not anything I have ever experienced. Otherwise, nice property & room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
22
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haysville, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was great as was the free breakfast. We stayed here the night before our cruise left the next day out of Galveston. The only downer I would say is the extra $25.00 they charged us up front for having 4 adults in our room vs. 2 adults. When we booked this several weeks earlier on hotels.com we knew about the extra $25.00 fee so it wasn't a surprise or anything. I just felt like they shouldn't do this type of charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24onfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The bed was comfortable, the room quite large and the desk staff so helpful. However, the breakfast area was not a pleasant experience. The line for the food was always long, they constantly ran out of eggs and sausage and there were several signs saying "Do Not Take Food Out of This Area" which would be fine but there was never any place to sit. Loved Texas City!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm shocked at some of the other reviews! But, everyone's perceptions are different. I'm very particular, we stayed at this location in May of 2012. We are back again. I have to add that this is Spring Break weekend just a few miles from Galveston. Thus, if a problem were going to occur, this would be the time. There's just a few things I must say in the beginning. No fan in the bathroom, I just cannot see that as a worthy point to even put down as one reviewer did. That is just me. Alex, at the front desk, he's a young guy, but was very friendly at chatty. Not sure why he was described as rude. The rooms, they are immaculate. We have just came back in from being gone all day, the room is spotless. There are no broken drawers, lamps, hinges, deco is nice, snack area is clean, parking lot is safe. As far as no restaurants near by as one reviewer said, well, they didn't a block down and turn. There are too many to choose from. Bottom line, if going to Galveston, just stay here. Moderately priced Galveston locations (if there is such a thing) are usually rooms that have been ravaged by teens. This is a "grown up" hotel here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise left Galveston. I must say that the room and bathroom were absolutely the cleanest room that I have ever had in a motel/hotel. The breakfast was the standard fare. The staff was friendly but we had a little trouble checking in as the desk clerk had to leave to make up some rooms! They were helpful in giving us suggestions on dining. The room as spacious and overall I was VERY pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel overall was a nice hotel. It has a great outdoor pool. The only problem we had was the hotel didn't have a shower chair available. We asked the front desk about this problem and even though they didn't have one available they went and bought one for us to have the next morning. Alex was very helpful! This hotel was very reasonable in price if you do the advance price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Where to start...my bff and I had reserved a room for the last weekend in June at this establishment. An hour before our arrival, we were informed by Alex (the rudest desk clerk I've ever come across) that they had given our room away because we were not there before 3 pm! Keep in mind, their policy is not to give a room away until 7 am the next morning. My friend finally got the manager on the phone, who was equally as rude. After several minutes of the manager calling her a liar, the manager said "I don't want to talk to you anymore! You can just call corporate." & hung up on her. Long story short, we filled a complaint with the corporate office and have never once heard back from the hotel. WORST customer service I've ever experienced in my life!! Needless to say, neither my friend nor I will be staying at a Comfort Suites ever again. TRAVELER BEWARE of this shady operation!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystalrenee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Texas City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#6 of 12 in Texas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texas City
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Address: 320 Highway 146 N, Texas City, TX 77590-6631 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Texas City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Texas City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing