We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EVER, NEVER AGAIN!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“WORST EVER, NEVER AGAIN!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Where to start...my bff and I had reserved a room for the last weekend in June at this establishment. An hour before our arrival, we were informed by Alex (the rudest desk clerk I've ever come across) that they had given our room away because we were not there before 3 pm! Keep in mind, their policy is not to give a room away until 7 am the next morning. My friend finally got the manager on the phone, who was equally as rude. After several minutes of the manager calling her a liar, the manager said "I don't want to talk to you anymore! You can just call corporate." & hung up on her. Long story short, we filled a complaint with the corporate office and have never once heard back from the hotel. WORST customer service I've ever experienced in my life!! Needless to say, neither my friend nor I will be staying at a Comfort Suites ever again. TRAVELER BEWARE of this shady operation!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystalrenee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
34
22
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

No exhaust fan in bathroom. No air conditioning in bathroom. Quieter than average, partly due to location and partly due to the fact there were not very many quests. Hotel is easy to find and is halfway between Galveston and Kemah.

No restaurant nearby but there is a Chevron station next door.

Breakfast included oatmeal, waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy. Biscuits were so hard and dry they were not edible. Oatmeal was not restocked and there were no toppings for the oatmeal. Milk was not restocked, coffee was not restocked, waffle batter was not restocked. This seemed to be a situation where the desk clerk was doing double duty as breakfast bar attendant, always a bad idea. Only one trash can in the breakfast bar area and it was in the most inconvenient place possible, they need to add a trash can near the exit door. Maids used the breakfast bar for their own breakfast. This not only used food and tables intended for guests but their cell phones were constantly ringing and they were constantly talking on the phone.

We are not messy people and normally do not ask for maid service for short stays. On this occasion we ran short of kleenex and asked the maid for another box. She refused.

This hotel has a public computer with printer, but the interface is cumbersome and not user friendly. For some strange reason they will not let you use the computer between midnight and 6:00 am.

Room Tip: One side overlooks the parking lot, if you want to keep an eye on your car. The other side overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is oil field area so you are going to pay a high price of a room. Book ahead or you could be staying in your car - especially during the week. This is a nice and safe place to stay. You may want to avoid priceline in West Texas on Highway 10 especially. You may get a dog of a room and won't save that much either. Pay and be safe. Know what you are getting or you could get burned.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you are staying on a weekday in particular because the oil field workers usually book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CVCVws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

this a wonderful hotel we stay as a anniversary weekend the room was nice and cold and the pool was nice the breakfast was awesome you can make your own waffle which was the shape of texas so cool i will be back soon..

Room Tip: we stay on the third floor it had kids but i am use to kids so didnt bother me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovinlife97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

While the hotel is new and nice the service was so, so. Our room was not cleaned on one occasion. There were no towels for the pool area one evening nor did the pool seem to be cleaned and we were there three days and swam or used the jacuzzi all three days. Also the breakfast offerings were lacking.

Breakfast area freshness of the food was questionable, the boiled eggs were spoiled, the fruit was soft. Bananas were brown and squishy and apples were soft. The cereal was stale, and so were the danishes. Very disappointed and yes, we did bring it to the attention of the attendant(s). Yep there were attendants, ALL the housekeeping staff was in the breakfast area eating waffles and having coffee they seem like no big deal and no changes were made for the next day, same spoiled eggs and stale cereal were in the containers on day three.

While the location is good, if we return to the area we will most likely not stay here again, there is better to be had for the same money. I am not that hard to please but the so so accommodations, unfriendliness/unresponsiveness of staff and unappealing breakfast just makes me think try somewhere else next time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ldmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here the night before leaving on a cruise out of Galveston.The hotel is in a convenient location if heading to Galveston. The room was very nice and big. Breakfast was good and consisted of waffles, bagels, sausage, biscuits, juice, etc. The front desk staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel has a laundry room that guest can use which was nice. If you need a place to stay that is clean, convenient, and decently priced this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wonderlust86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for one night and found this place to be more than we could ask for. It is clean and the staff were nice. It is a good central location between Galveston and Kemah, and easy to find and get to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbooth2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 12 in Texas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#6 of 12 in Texas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mainland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texas City
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
Address: 320 Highway 146 N, Texas City, TX 77590-6631 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Texas City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Texas City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing