We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No, Just No” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Texarkana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnuson Hotel Texarkana
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Mapleton, IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No, Just No”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After staying in a few La Quintas this one was a big disappointment. Upon entering you can tell that the rooms are very old and just "done up enough" to make them LOOK updated. Spill stains on the walls and dirt/dust on the back of the bed. Just dosnt feel clean. The room had a musty smell that bothered me and my daughters all night. Pool also had very ruff concrete that scratched your feet. Look for a different La Quinta...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dapa4por
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    60
    69
    49
See reviews for
138
67
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My Daughter and I were traveling alone and wouldn't get to our destination until the wee hours so we decided would be safer to stop. Just wanted something at a good price that's clean. Every-thing was clean and in good working order.
No musky or smoking odors. It was money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venelk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everything you could ask for in an economy hotel. Great value and location, friendly and efficient desk clerks. Clean and neat throughout property. So quiet we overslept, though there were other guests all around us, and just off I-30. A variety of restaurants closeby, some within walking distance.

For fun, drive down Stateline Avenue, where it's Texas on the southbound side, and Arkansas going northbound.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife & I stay at LQ frequently because they are pet-friendly and our Lab often travels with us. Understanding that LQ is a moderate-priced chain, we do not expect frills, and are usually satisfied with their accommodations. This time we did not have our dog, but there was an LQ in Texarkana where we expected to spend the night so we decided to stay there. Big mistake!
The staff was very nice and the check-in experience was OK, but here's a short list of what we experienced: There was a power outage shortly after we checked in and the AC went out. A staff member came and got it going again, but it was a hassle. The bed squeaked when you got in and out of it; the shower and mirror were set for someone under 5'10", and I'm well over 6' tall. Had to stoop to shower, shave, and comb my hair. The room was small, there was no refrigerator (a standard at every other LQ where we've stayed), and the walls were so thin we heard every door closing and hall conversation on the entire floor.
Our success with other LQs over the years will not cause this one bad experience to keep us away, but we certainly can't recommend it to anyone else and would not stay there if we find ourselves in Texarkana overnight again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Texarkana hotels

Cedar Park, TX
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've been staying here occasionally for several years as we travel south. The location is convenient; the beds are excellent, and it's always clean and quiet. The facility is an older one and it's less expensive than most new ones. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The food is not gourmet but is more than adequate. It's not a resort but it's an excellent place to spend the night when traveling. We were snowed in here a couple of years ago and found it to be a very comfortable place to spend an extra day while others were sliding around on an off the interstate nearby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texarkana
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#2 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
#10 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texarkana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Texarkana Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Texarkana
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Texarkana
Econo Lodge Texarkana
#9 of 19 in Texarkana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Texarkana

Property: Magnuson Hotel Texarkana
Address: 5201 N State Line Ave, Texarkana, TX 75503-2939 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Texarkana)
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Texarkana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the La Quinta Inn Texarkana and you are in two places at once! Texarkana straddles two states, and at the bi-state Post Office, stand with one foot in Arkansas and the other in Texas. That means twice the service and twice the fun with convenient access to popular attractions of both states, including Spring Lake Park and Wright Patman Lake, and the Border City Bandits Hockey. Hope AR, the birth place of President Clinton is less than a half hour drive from the hotel. The La Quinta Inn Texarkana has plenty of truck parking available. Guests awaken mornings to the aroma of Belgian waffles drifting in from a Free Bright Side Breakfast served daily. We have a sparkling outdoor swimming pool and free use of an off-premise fitness center. Rooms are loaded with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, iron w/ironing board, hair dryer and more. Located just South of Interstate 30 on Highway 59/71, not far from St. Michaels Hospital. Pets are welcome free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and LaQuinta so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Texarkana La Quinta
La Quinta Texarkana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing