We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cafeteria with dynamite desserts”
Review of Bryce's Cafeteria - CLOSED

Bryce's Cafeteria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Bryce's is about farm fresh quality ingredients and recipes that date back to its inception. Genuine people preparing genuine food for you on a daily basis. It's good food fast! Come join us for lunch or dinner today!
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A cafeteria with dynamite desserts”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Bryce's Cafeteria in Texarkana TX was a welcome oasis after a tough drive through congested highway construction in Arkansas. It's an old-fashioned cafeteria, very large, with friendly and helpful staff, not just behind the counter. The food is oriented toward east Texas/Southern, and the desserts are of the pre-health-food variety--big, sweet, lots of whipped cream and meringue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    66
    34
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home style cooking that is always good.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My favorite thing are their salads and vegetables, but everthing is good. There are so many good choices it's hard to make up my mind.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - Lots if Variety”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been eating at Bryce's since I was a child when they were in their former location in downtown Texarkana. The food is always good and there are so many choices. Their coconut cream pie is as good as my mother used to make. I highly recommend this cafeteria.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJeanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A tried and true classic!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are driving through Texarkana any time near a meal, stop by and get ready for an old fashioned fantastic meal. Be sure and get a piece of pie. They bake their pies in a special huge pie oven.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
“Honest to goodness, traditional Southern cafeteria!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Any meal at Bryce's will take you back to the traditional, Dixie-style cuisine from owner-operated cafeterias that were a common site all over the South a few decades ago. I love everything they serve at Bryce's! Sometimes, my eyes are "bigger than my stomach" which always leads me to getting too many side dishes or deserts... My favorite things to order have been the same since I was a kid: fried fish fillet with tartar sauce, mashed potatoes (no gravy), black-eyed peas, fried okra, and to top it off, fresh strawberry pie. But I've ordered other items... they serve great fried chicken, macaroni & cheese... Oh! Liver and onions! You have to order the liver & onions!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing