We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Home Cooking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryce's Cafeteria

Bryce's Cafeteria
Ranked #7 of 163 Restaurants in Texarkana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bryce's is about farm fresh quality ingredients and recipes that date back to its inception. Genuine people preparing genuine food for you on a daily basis. It's good food fast! Come join us for lunch or dinner today!
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic home cooking at a great price! Excellent for those on special diet ...plenty of veggie choices!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    63
    34
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana,Texas
Level Contributor
483 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good Southern Cooking in Texarkana since 1931”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My brother and I have eaten here for the past decade because we think the food is great. They serve wonderful home style Southern meals such as Salmon Croquette, Cream Chicken on Cornbread, BBQ Brisket, Shrimp Creole and Rice plus a nice selection of salads. They also have a mini plate available which is suitable for kids or someone on a diet. The mini plate which is identified by a yellow asterisk next to it on the menu board consists of 1/2 portion of the daily Entree plus 2 veggies and bread for a fixed price of $8.50. They also have a wonderful selection of Desserts such as Apple Pie, Pecan Pie, Millionaire Pie which are baked daily. There is also a selection of Sugar Free Desserts available. Also, if you are fortunate enough to visit on a Sunday, you will find that they include fresh Roast Turkey and Dressing on the menu. They also offer a special Lunch menu on Thanksgiving and Easter.

I could not mention Bryce's Cafeteria without mentioning the awesome staff, many of whom have been with the restaurant for years. I just want to give a special mention to Texarkana's own, Mr. Leo, who has presided over the front of the house for 52 years and will ensure that Bryce's dining experience is everything that it should be for its customers, both old and new!

The easiest way to reach Bryce's Cafeteria is to exit Interstate 30 at the Richmond Road Exit. If you are traveling from AR, you will have to exit I 30, continue on the service road, turn left across the Interstate, and then turn left again onto the service road by Central Mall. For those travelers coming from TX, exit at Richmond Road, continue on the service road, through the traffic light at Richmond Road. Bryce's is located on the right just before Summerhill Road.

I suggest for those folks who are traveling by bus, that it would be courteous to call ahead and let them know to expect you~

The hours of service are as follows: Monday - Friday Lunch 11 am - 2 pm
Dinner 5 pm - 8 pm
Continuous Service Saturday 11 am - 8 pm
Continuous Service Sunday 11 am - 3 pm

Finally, I just want to mention that Bryce's Cafeteria has been locally owned and operated for 2 generations so you know the food must be good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filmbuffintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food a bryces is awesome. It reminds you are grandmas cooking. It is cafateria style, but the food it great. They also have a drive through if you don't want to go in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank natd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeteriagurl, Owner at Bryce's Cafeteria, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for recommending Bryce's! We are glad you like our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown, TX
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth Finding for Yummy Southern-style Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We wound around arduously from w/b I-30 to find Bryces on the e/b access rd. it had been touted to us and we were rewarded with tasty limas and an eggplant casserole that made our meal memorable! Nice place, good food, kinda pricey but we felt it was worth it to eat local and avoid the chains!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeteriagurl, Owner at Bryce's Cafeteria, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Bryce's! Sorry you were routed out of the way to get here. GPS services are still trying to get the directions right after the construction on I-30. Please stop in again next time you are in the area. In reference to the pricing, we offer a mini-plate, that is NOT mini, that includes a smaller meat portion, two vegetable servings and your choice of bread. All of this is under $10! Thanks again and happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
471 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Too expensive for cafeteria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Food quality is solid, but the place is very expensive for a cafeteria. We spend more there than when we eat out with full service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WarEglTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeteriagurl, Owner at Bryce's Cafeteria, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are glad you liked the food at Bryce's and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I want to address your comment about pricing. The review states that you "spend more than when you eat out with full service". We are a full service restaurant and not a "cheap" alternative or an "all you can eat buffet"

We take pride in the fact that we make our food with the fresh ingredients and whole foods. We use real butter, whole milk, fresh eggs, fresh poultry and beef. We buy fresh produce whenever possible and locally grown in season. Our pies, cakes and desserts along with rolls and cornbread are made fresh daily. All of this great food that we offer is made in our kitchen and presented to you by our staff of 55 hard working people. Our dining room team is there to assist you with your tray, refill your glass and get anything you need from condiments to a to-go order. Unlike most restaurants that pay their waitstaff a fraction of the minimum wage we pay our dining room staff a full wage. Most customers leave a small tip on the table but not the customary 20% that is expected at other types of restaurants.

All of this costs money. It is no secret that food prices have soared recently and continue to rise. Our cost of goods has increased significantly but we are unable to raise our prices proportionately because we want to continue to offer quality food at a good price. We offer a variety of choices in every section from salads, desserts, meats, vegetables and breads. Since our portions are quite generous any selection is a value. Our prices are less than the local chains that offer prepackaged, warmed over dishes prepared remotely in a central kitchen then shipped to the local facility in refrigerated trucks.

Let's dive into the pricing and do some comparison shopping. The Bryce's mini-plate is a great value at around $8.50 (at the time of this writing, Aug, 2012) and includes a 1/2 order of meat, two vegetables and your choice of bread. Add a drink and the total for one is in the neighborhood of $10.30 for one. Add a dessert for around $3.50 brings your bill to $13.80. Let's compare this the chain restaurant across the street. Chicken entree with two sides, 9.99, dessert 5.99, drink 2.99 for a total of $18.97, let's round it to $19.00 plus tip of 20% for a grand total of $22.80. Bryce's total was $13.80 + a tip for the dining room staff which is usually about $1 per person. $22.80 - $14.80 = $8.00. Bryce's is 35% less and offers fresh food and comparable portions.

We hope that you will come back to dine with us next time you are in town.

Thank you for your time.
Bryce's Cafeteria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryce's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing