We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perot”
Review of Perot Theatre

Perot Theatre
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Texarkana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The beautiful restored Perot Theatre, located in downtown Texarkana at 3rd and Main St, has been a landmark since 1924 when it opened as the Saenger Amusement Company's "Gateway to the Southwest" theatre. Fully restored by the City of Texarkana, TX in 1979-80, the building is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Texarkana natives, H. Ross Perot and his sister Bette, through the Perot Foundation, contributed much of the restoration costs in memory of his parents, Mr. & Mrs. Gabriel Ross Perot. In recognition of this contribution, the Texarkana, TX City Council renamed the building - The Perot Theatre. The theatre annually hosts the Perot Theatre Series, as well as numerous rentals throughout the year. The Perot Theatre is owned by the City of Texarkana, TX and the Texarkana Regional Arts & Humanities Council is contracted to program and manage the theatre.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

The theater is old world classic! Texarkana is very fortunate to have such a facility. Also the staff is excellent.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ornate architecture"
in 2 reviews
"sound system"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful gold"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"off broadway"
in 2 reviews
"great restoration"
in 2 reviews
"movie house"
in 2 reviews
"golden pond"
in 2 reviews
"many years"
in 2 reviews
"wide variety"
in 2 reviews
"first rate"
in 2 reviews
"gold leaf"
in 2 reviews
"in addition"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 2 reviews
"performance"
in 13 reviews
"shows"
in 16 reviews
"symphony"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2018

We enjoyed a private tour this morning. Our tour guide shared many historical facts about the theatre, and some quirky tidbits. We were in awe of the beautiful interior that has been lovingly restored & maintained. Stairs are included in the tour to reach the balcony level. We have to come back for a performance. This theatre is a beautiful grande dame. We hope you enjoy her elegant beauty as much as we do. Enjoy!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review Laurie H and would love to have y'all return to enjoy one of our upcoming performances!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

It has been beautifully restored to its original beauty. The details are wonderful. The staff is friendly and full of details. We had a great tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your review the Perot Theatre! I am thrilled to hear you had a great experience. Come back and see us anytime you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We went to a production of On Golden Pond. We live in the same television market and have been hearing about the Perot Theater for a long time. We always said we wanted to go, but never did it. It is a beautiful building. If you are familiar to the Strand in Shreveport, they are similar. Both are restored theaters from the 20's or 30's. This one is a little smaller that the Strand, but the seats are larger and you have more knee room. The volunteers are all great. You need to go if you have an opportunity. You want be sorry you did.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank daylilyrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. While there are differences between us and The Strand, the similarities are all around us.
I am thrilled to hear you had a great experience and hope you continue to see great productions and performances at both historic theatres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

There's no better place to spend an evening in Texarkana than the Perot Theater! Montana Repertory's performance of "On Golden Pond" presented us with an unforgettable theater experience. It's conveniently located next door to Pecan Point Gastropub which makes it perfect for dinner and a show.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank jamesmK1694WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for the review. Enjoying dinner at Pecan Point before attending a show does make for a great evening. We love to have Montana Repertory come to our historic theatre. I am glad to hear you had a great evening and hope you will come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perot Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing