We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful theatre on historical register”
Review of Perot Theatre

Perot Theatre
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Texarkana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The beautiful restored Perot Theatre, located in downtown Texarkana at 3rd and Main St, has been a landmark since 1924 when it opened as the Saenger Amusement Company's "Gateway to the Southwest" theatre. Fully restored by the City of Texarkana, TX in 1979-80, the building is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Texarkana natives, H. Ross Perot and his sister Bette, through the Perot Foundation, contributed much of the restoration costs in memory of his parents, Mr. & Mrs. Gabriel Ross Perot. In recognition of this contribution, the Texarkana, TX City Council renamed the building - The Perot Theatre. The theatre annually hosts the Perot Theatre Series, as well as numerous rentals throughout the year. The Perot Theatre is owned by the City of Texarkana, TX and the Texarkana Regional Arts & Humanities Council is contracted to program and manage the theatre.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

This theatre is breathtaking with the plaster and gold leaf details. Everywhere you look there is architectural details that will amaze you. It takes you back in time to the old theatres. It is definitely a sight to behold.

Thank rehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. The details seem to change with every tour; something new reveals itself. I am glad to hear you had a great tour and have been touched by our own time machine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"box office"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"off broadway"
in 2 reviews
"movie house"
in 2 reviews
"former glory"
in 2 reviews
"wide variety"
in 2 reviews
"gold leaf"
in 2 reviews
"in addition"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 2 reviews
"performance"
in 11 reviews
"shows"
in 16 reviews
"symphony"
in 4 reviews
"stage"
in 4 reviews
"season"
in 3 reviews
"venue"
in 5 reviews
"music"
in 5 reviews
"plaster"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2018

I was a child when I attended my first concert at the Perot Theatre. I remember being bewitched by the baroque and ornate architecture and the overall smoothness of the event. Decades later, after many visits, the Perot Theatre still continues to offer this first-rate theatre experience.

The staff is courteous and will readily aid you in finding your seats and other facilities. The staff will even give you a tour of the theatre should you ask. The seating is very comfortable with plenty of legroom. Nothing is worse than having your theatre-going experience marred by uncomfortable seating or unaccommodating staff. You will not have to worry about these aspects here.

The actual theatre experience is truly marvelous. Every single performance I have watched has gone off without a hitch. I have never encountered problems as far as their sound system is concerned. I have been to many theatres, but I can say, without a doubt, the Perot is my favorite theatre experience. The comfort and simplicity of the theatre add so much to the performance. I highly recommend anyone take a tour of the theatre or go see a performance. This is truly an experience that is not to be missed!

Thank Jean-Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Wow! Thank you so much for your great review. I hope this will inspire others to take advantage of such a great historical opportunity that also offers great entertainment year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We have been many times and have always have a great time and the shows , from off broadway to the Christmas shows we have never disapointed .

Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

What a magnificent venue. This is a treasure from an earlier age and we really enjoyed the music of the 60s, 70s, and 80s (in reverse order) performed by the very talented and versatile cast. Bathrooms are inadequate and this would be a problem if there were more people.

Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Marketing Coordinator at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Thank you so much for the review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great experience, was able to appreciate the historic value of the theatre, and enjoyed the performance! We do fully understand the bathroom situation and hope to have the opportunity to update and renovate over the next few years. We offer free tours of our historic theatre Monday - Friday, 10AM - 5PM; please come back to see us soon to get a behind the scenes look at things and the history of the theatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

I first saw the Perot Theater as a teenager when it was a movie theatre. It was great then but oh you must see it now! It is a majestic theatre, restored beautifully. It is worth your effort to see it. Dress up, take your family, and feel special! It is a fabulous venue.

Thank 862Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAHC_Perot, Public Relations Manager at Perot Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so glad to hear you are a return patron and enjoy the special feeling you only get when attending a performance at the Perot Theatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perot Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Perot Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing