We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Tour!”

Draughon-Moore Ace of Clubs House
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Texarkana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1885, this Italianate Victorian home is uniquely designed in the shape of a club because (as legend has it) money to build the house was from the winnings of a poker game with a lucky draw of the ace of clubs. Filled with original furnishings dating from the 1720s to the 1940s from the last occupants of the house, it is regarded as one of the best attractions in the country. "You rarely see a house that is so perfect in every detail and spans the years of a family having the house for 100 years." --Bob Vila, star of TV's hit "Home Again" and "America's Guide to Historic Homes" "The Ace of Clubs House is a real Texarkana treasure." --Stuart Whitehurst, of PBS' hit series "Antiques Roadshow"
Leander, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Tour!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I were on a tour of the Ace of Clubs house this past November and quite enjoyed the tour. This has to be credited to our tour guide; I don't remember her name, but she did say she's worked there 18+ years. She knew more information about the history of this home and it's owners than I expected and seemed to love giving this tour. Her knowledge and enthusiasm made this that much more of an enjoyable experience for me. Even for my husband, who doesn't particularly love historic home tours... :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home and Grand Tour”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Very well-kept and managed home with a very knowledgable docent. So interesting to see what life was like for some during those times. Whether you're a history buff, into great architecture, or teaching your kids gratitude for the times we live in now, I highly recommend this establishment and tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs More Friends”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

In Texarkana for a wedding--not much to do here. Found this in a guide book. We arrived long before the next organized tour was to start, so Carol gave us a "private" tour. Very interesting layout and furnishings. We have seen many historic houses over the years and around the country. This, in some ways, is the most unusual--starting with architecture/shape of the building itself. While they have done a good amount of restoration, the house , like the town itself, could use more.--money, volunteers etc. All in all, a worthwhile hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

See a very unique bit of architecture and history in this restored home built with the winnings of a poker game and shaped like the Ace of Clubs in the winning hand.

When I visited in June 2014 there was a docent in every room to tell us the history of the home and its residents.

Don't miss the wonderful collection of over 500 shoes, the amazing natural air conditioning built into the home, and the brass censer (incense burner) prior residents had brought back from their travels and turned into a chandelier.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Friday_Wyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Fultonham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic step back in time.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you love vintage, history, antiques, and shoes. Do not pass up an opportunity to visit this gem. The introductory video prepares your mindset for the tour that follows. As Melissa guides you from room to room; you travel back in time as she highlights the personal touches of those who lived there. Her continuous research, devotion and knowledge round out the tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank wbygdva61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Draughon-Moore Ace of Clubs House also viewed

 

Been to Draughon-Moore Ace of Clubs House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing