We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Impressed with staff, rooms, beds, pool, and breakfast. Great place!!! Overnight stay but have been glad to stay longer. Even my picky husband liked the breakfast. Son says...they even had bacon. Modern decor...lots of cable channels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjzmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    65
    31
    19
    26
See reviews for
160
58
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was in town for a family emergency. This hotel was reccomended by several people at the hospital. I am so glad I took their advice. I spent a week here, and during that time, the staff went above and beyond to make me the most comfortable. With everything that was happening at the time, it was such a relief to find my second home with this fine hote. Each night upon my return I was offered fresh hot cookies and coffee and each staff member was very welcoming. I also really enjoyed the hot tub and indoor pool. I will never forget this place and the people there who turned such a miserabe time, into a time where I could relax and breathe. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priceline_Elimintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

When we arrived, we waited in the lobby for 15 minutes until the clerk appeared. It was late, we were tired and it would have been great if we could have checked in quicker. We finally check in and realize in the middle of the night that the air conditioner doesn't work. The clerk was rude about the situation but the next day, she did give us another room. This night was not any better as we realized the air would not go below 72 degrees in that room. The tub was growing mold to make matters worse. Two miserable nights. We will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We apologize for the cleanliness of your room, and we would like to speak in more detail about this. We ask that you contact us at Customer Care via our website. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our 2nd stay here since 2011 while travelling to and from Tucson. Still a good stopover hotel. Very convenient, pleased with Sr. discount rate, clean rooms, quiet enviroment, bed comfortable, friendly staff. It's a typical freeway hotel so you are getting what you pay for. Several decent moderately priced restaurants in area for quick meal. We did not eat the free breakfast so cannot provide a comment but usually Country Inns have the basics. Would stay again next year if we travel same route and timing works out. The only issue which we did not encounter in 2011 was a horrible sulphur odor coming from sink in bathroom. The shower faucet was fine. The staff blamed it on the 2 paper mills in the area and commented the town will sometimes have a strong odor. This was not too reassuring but after checking things out on web, apparantly no serious health issues fromt he water (don't drink it!!).

Room Tip: Good senior rate if booked right from website or calling hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We has trouble finding this hotel because my GPS was not updated. This is a new hotel located right next to Academy Sporting Goods, and across the highway from Gander Mountain. This is a secluded area, and quiet. The rooms were very comfortable, and the staff very nice. They have a small store next to the office. The breakfast room is very nice with a granite bar located in the middle of the room, with stools. The regular tables are there as well. Breakfast consist of eggs, potatoes, bacon, waffles, yogurt, toast, oatmeal, fruits, pastries, juices, milks, and coffee. There were always choclate chip cookies available in the lobby. We and some other family members showed up on a Sunday evening and recieved a great rate of 37 dollars for 5 hotel rooms we needed. Everything is new and clean. The beds are very confortble. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure your GPS is updated or you may have problems finding this one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim45Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempner
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

On our way to Kingsport Tennessee we stop off at this hotel late at night and it was well worth the money we spend on it. Although we only stayed the night, the staff got us to our room very quickly and we had a very comfortable stay. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. On top of everything, the free hot breakfast the next morning was great and got us in a good mood for our long trip to to Tennessee. If you are passing through Texarakan and need to stop for a rest, I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

2nd visit here. This is a newer motel and it shows. Rooms are superb - clean, beautiful furniture, good bed, microwave and refrigerator and plenty of outlets for electronic devices. It has both wired and wireless connections for internet and the speed of the internet is excellent. The workdesk has an ergonomic chair and 4 outlets in a power strip built into the desk. There is another powerstrip mounted on the back of the chest of drawer piece and outlets on each of the lamps on the end tables. A very nice easy chair with ottoman also in the room. Bathroom has granite or fake granite tops and shower walls. A spacious storage closet is in the room. It's a pretty spacious room overall. The only issue is that the room, even with all the lights on, is dark.

Breakfast is a treat. Actual dishes and metal silverware - no styrofoam! They have eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon and bisquits with gravy. Hot food! The usual waffle machine is there, but the oatmeal is already cooked and in a pot - just dip it out. Lots of fruit and cereal. There is a bar in the center of the dining area with outlets and ethernet ports if you want to work while eating. Nice people.

The check-in desk also has chocolate chip cookies available all day, and hot coffee is also available all day.

Very nice inside pool and hot tub, well lighted and clean.

It deserves more stars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Texarkana hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#2 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texarkana
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
#10 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Texarkana
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Texarkana
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Texarkana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana
Address: 1918 Univeristy Ave, Texarkana, TX 75501-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All New Country Inn & Suites Texarkana Hotel. The newly opened Country Inn & Suites hotel in Texarkana, Texas is proud to offer top-quality accommodations and excellent service at affordable prices. This hotel features welcoming, home-like accents including hardwood floors, a lobby fireplace and an on-site lending library. Additional amenities include a heated indoor pool, spa, Fitness Center and Business Center. Our hotel is located just six miles from Texarkana Municipal Airport and just five miles from popular attractions like the historic Perot Theatre, Discovery Place and Tex-Ark Antique Auto Museum. Book one of our Texarkana hotel's new guest rooms and you will experience warm, welcoming decor and amenities that make you feel at home. Guest rooms are equipped with free high-speed Internet, HD TV with HD cable channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker and a complimentary weekday newspaper. Suites are also available. Stay at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Texarkana, TX hotels. Our comfortable and friendly hotel is located just off I-30 and near Cooper Tire, International Paper, John Turk Power plant in Fulton, AR, Christus St. Michael Hospital, Domtar, Red River Army Depot and Texas A&M University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Texarkana Hotel Texarkana
Country Inn And Suites Texarkana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing