We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor management and deferred maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Texarkana
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“poor management and deferred maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

1. The swimming pool was green and bubbling, and the manager was telling guests do not mind the water.It was only April in Texas, think about summer...
2. At night, the lobby floor and the elevator were covered with foot prints and dirty water.
3. The housekeepers do not clean the draws for ages, those were covered with dust.
4. The management has communication problems:
We originally booked two rooms for 4 adults. We checked in April 5th, 2012.
The night of April 5th, 2012, we made a change with Expedia that we only need one room for two nights and would check out the other room the next morning. Expedia contacted Country Inn & Suites Texarkana immediately and sent us the refund and confirmation with no mistakes.
However, Country Inn & Suites-Texarkana checked out both rooms without my authorization and moved out the items from the room that we needed for two nights.
They lost some of my guests' items and double charged my credit card.
I understand it is not a usual situation but if Expedia could handle it correctly with great efficiency, why could not Country Inn and Suites Texarkana?

Don't think I am going back there, and I am pretty sure with such a management, and poor maintenance, the place will wear out with no time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnisha I, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Melanie,
Thank you for taking time to visit our trip advisor website. I would like to address the issues stated in your review of Country Inn & Suites in Texarkana. Our swimming pool floor is painted light green making the water appear green when in reality the pool's water is clear. On the friday night that you stayed we had two pool parties, so when you say the floor was covered in water if was from children getting in & out of the pool. I have recently revamped my housekeeping department making cleaning issues obsolete. As you stated you changed your reservation to only needing 1 room for the 2nd night. We received the authorization from expedia that stated you were needing to check out of both rooms the next day. As far as your credit card being double charged this was never brought to my attention. Thank you again for your constructive comments an as always we value your contribution.
Sincerely,
Darnisha Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    65
    32
    20
    26
See reviews for
162
58
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwater
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

The guests we put up at this motel were very pleased and pleasantly surprised at how nice of a place that we provided for them. Thank you to Mrs Patel for being so kind and helpful with all of the arrangements. Thanks so much, Pam Hamilton with FBC Redwater.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDGELY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

OK...The negative...hard to find because the street is 'new' so the GPS wouldn't pick it up - no big deal. The mini frig had no freezer but at least there was a mini frig. Breakfast started at 6:15 and runs until 9 a.m. but we got down there at 7:15 and they had run out of eggs and didn't make any more. Those were really the only 'bad' parts..the rest..We stayed 1 night in a one bedroom suite. Free internes, decor was nice, bed was comfy, double sinks in the vanity area which was nice since there were no cabinets or drawers. Lobby area was very nice and the staff was great. Now may I say I always try to stay at suite hotels..not hotels that also have suites. This one ran us $127 which I often pay at the suite hotels with full kitchens so I think it's a bit high but I would still recommend it if you're staying in that area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious room and comfortable beds. It was so new that our GPS couldn't find it. The only minus was the fact that the door was difficult to open, and there were wooden blocks under a shelf in the bathroom where they had apparently tried to make a repair. We reported this when we left, and the clerk was very nice about it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Title basically says it all. Very comfortable beds with unusually high tread-count sheets for an interstate highway US hotel. Located at intersection of I-30 and US-59 so it is very convenient for travelers on long road trips, who I am sure comprise most of their clientele. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Breakfast above average for this type of hotel, and included some fresh fruit (along with the usual heavy stuff common in this part of the country). Staff are very efficient. There are places to eat along the highways very close to the hotel, very convenient in that regard. So if for some reason you find yourself in Texarkana needing a place to stay, it is hard for me to imagine that you could do better than this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houstonscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had not stayed in a Country Inn before and really didn't know what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise. The staff were very courteous, and our room was spacious and nicely appointed...seemed almost new. The location was convenient to restaurants, and frontage roads made driving around the area very simple. The lobby and breakfast area were great... almost new, comfortable, attractive. We were shocked to have real plates, cups and silverware when we went downstairs for breakfast the next morning! Our cost was only 85.00! We spent much much more and received much much less at a more prestigious hotel on this short trip. This is a lovely spot to stay. I'd gladly stay again. If you happen to be there on Monday night, try Carino's Italian restaurant. It was delicious, and they offer a great deal on Mondays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This accommodation was as advertised with nice decor, comfortable beds, a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The separate bathroom was roomy enough with ample counter space. Check in and out was efficient and the breakfast choices were more than expected. Only problem was they ran out of milk. Also room cleaning came into the room without knocking, while we were still in the bathroom getting ourselves ready for the day. We would still choose to stay another time if in that area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKA674086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Texarkana hotels
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#2 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texarkana
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
#10 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Texarkana
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 19 in Texarkana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Texarkana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana
Address: 1918 University Ave, Texarkana, TX 75501-4225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Texarkana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All New Country Inn & Suites Texarkana Hotel. The newly opened Country Inn & Suites hotel in Texarkana, Texas is proud to offer top-quality accommodations and excellent service at affordable prices. This hotel features welcoming, home-like accents including hardwood floors, a lobby fireplace and an on-site lending library. Additional amenities include a heated indoor pool, spa, Fitness Center and Business Center. Our hotel is located just six miles from Texarkana Municipal Airport and just five miles from popular attractions like the historic Perot Theatre, Discovery Place and Tex-Ark Antique Auto Museum. Book one of our Texarkana hotel's new guest rooms and you will experience warm, welcoming decor and amenities that make you feel at home. Guest rooms are equipped with free high-speed Internet, HD TV with HD cable channels, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker and a complimentary weekday newspaper. Suites are also available. Stay at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Texarkana, TX hotels. Our comfortable and friendly hotel is located just off I-30 and near Cooper Tire, International Paper, John Turk Power plant in Fulton, AR, Christus St. Michael Hospital, Domtar, Red River Army Depot and Texas A&M University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Texarkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Texarkana Hotel Texarkana
Country Inn And Suites Texarkana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing